The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway opened its 2008 racing season Saturday night and all classes provided classic short-track racing action.

Taylor Barton won the 40-lap Super Late Model feature in what may be his final Bullring appearance.  Barton, who is headed for ARCA and NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series rides in North Carolina, made a daring three-wide pass down the back straightaway to move from fourth to second place on lap 14.  He caught race leader Scott Gafforini on lap 23 and made the winning pass on lap 27 in Turn 4.  Gafforini finished second, followed by Matt Jaskol, Steve Anderson and Josh Gross. Barton also won the $200 Budweiser Super Late Model Dash.

Dow Woerner won the 25-lap Modified feature, followed across the finish line by Scott Osborn and Dennis Lovelady. Tim Richter won the Modified qualifying heat.

Branden Gianinni was declared the winner of the 25-lap Late Model feature after apparent winner Chris Birdsong's car failed to pass post-race technical inspection.  Glen Burke finished second and Joe Deguevera was third.  Late Model heats were won by Rich Attisani and Birdsong.

Daren Amidon won the 25-lap Legends Cars feature.  Bear Rzesnowiecky was second, followed by Jeremiah Wagner, Jack Madrid and Brecken Snow.

Phil Goodwin and 2007 champion Mario Opipari finished one-two in the 25-lap Charger feature.  Steve Dessormeau was third. Joe Finger and Don Sargent completed the top five. Charger heats were won by Utah's Mike Heck and Goodwin.

Patrick O'Hanley won the 12-lap Bandolero Young Guns feature and Chris Warren won the 12-lap Bandolero Bandits finale.  Jacob Tilton won the Bandolero Bandit heat and O'Hanley won the Bandolero Young Gun qualifier.

On Saturday, April 5, the Bullring at LVMS will present Kids' Night, with race fans under the age of 12 admitted free.  Activities will include the popular kids' box car race, face painting and a jump house.  NASCAR Whelen All-American Series and 600 Racing Series classes in competition that night will include: Super Late Models, Legends Cars, Modifieds, Late Models, Chargers and Bandoleros. Spectator gates will open at 5 p.m.

For more information, please call (702) 644-4444 or visit

Official results:

40-lap Super Late Model feature: 1. Taylor Barton, 2. Scott Gafforini, 3. Matt Jaskol, 4. Steve Anderson, 5. Josh Gross, 6. Charles Price, 7. Robert Ewing, 8. Dennis Rock Jr., 9. David Anderson, 10. Derek Frohlich, 11. Mike Ray, 12. Jim Petrie, 13. John Keller, 14. Jeff Connors, 15. Jason Secor, 16. Wayne Jacks, 17. Jeff Bargerhuff.

25-lap Legends Cars feature: 1. Daren Amidon, 2. Bear Rzesnowiecky, 3. Jeremiah Wagner, 4. Jack Madrid, 5. Brecken Snow, 6. Scott Swinford, 7. John Davis, 8. Fletcher Hammond, 9. Jacob Bishop, 10. Justin Hurdle, 11. Austin Childs, 12. Cheyanne Schindler, 13. Robert D'Ambra, 14. Brianna Holley, 15. Jay Beasley, 16. Shawn Snow, 17. Mark Young, 18. Brandon Snow, 19. Dylan Kwasniewski, 20. Robby Guevera, 21. B.J. Bollman, 22. Josh White, 23. Frank McCourt, 24. Zach Zimmerly.

25-lap Charger feature: 1. Phil Goodwin, 2. Mario Opipari, 3. Steve Dessomeau, 4. Joe Finger, 5. Don Sargent, 6. Matt Cunningham, 7. Chad Mattos, 8. Tim Maserang, 9. John Wright, 10. Mike Heck, 11. Vince Raucci, 12. Drew Dixon, 13. Jerry Gentry.

25-lap Late Model feature: 1. Branden Giannini, 2.Glen burke, 3. Joe Deguevera, 4. Rich Attisani, 5. Matt Frady, 6. Eric Martin, 7. John Spilotro, 8. Dave Campoverde, 9. Stan Mullis, 10. Chris Bray, 11. Jeff Bargerhuff, 12. Dan Howell, 13. Skylar Mortenson, 14. Mike McKearn, 15. Chuck Franck, 16. John Taylor, 17. Chris Birdsong (disqualified).

25-lap Modified feature: 1. Dow Woerner, 2. Scott Osborn, 3. Dennis Lovelady, 4. Tim Richter, 5. Charlie Wahl, 6. Tim Barber, 7. Pat Petrie, 8. Kenny Thompson.

12-lap Bandolero Young Guns feature: 1. Patrick O'Hanley, 2. Ashlee Ambriz, 3. Jacksen Smith, 4. Hayley Lager, 5. Amanda Gubler, 6. Rachel Brown, 7. Kolleen Dresser, 8. Gabriel Glass.

12-lap Bandolero Bandits feature: 1. Christian Warren, 2. Nicholas Thigpen, 3. Michael Morris, 4. Jacob Tilton, 5. Sullivan Winesett, 6. Ian Anderson, 7. Kayli Barker, 8. Christian Glass, 9. Vince Raucci, 10. Jonathan Eakin.