The Bullring, LVMS' 3/8-mile asphalt oval, hosted the stars of the NHRA's POWERade Drag Racing Series Saturday night.

The 15-lap Stars of the NHRA Thunder Roadster race was won by Doug Kalitta.  Gary Scelzi made a number of attempts to grab the lead from Kalitta but had to settle for second place.  A few of the NHRA stars experienced some difficulty with making turns.  The caution flag flew on the first lap for Jeg Coughlin's spin in Turn 1.  The second caution flag of the race was thrown for J.R. Todd's backward slide in in Turn 2 on lap 4 and  the third-and-final caution period was generated by Allen Johnson's go-round in Turn 2 on lap 13. European Top Fuel drag racing champion Urs Erbacher served as color commentator with announcers Nathan Hirschi and Chet Christner. ESPN2 NHRA drag racing announcer Dave Rieff served as the honorary starter.

15-lap Stars of the NHRA Thunder Roadster feature: 1. Doug Kalitta, 2. Gary Scelzi, 3. J.R. Todd, 4. Jeg Coughlin Jr., 5. Allen Johnson, 6. Morgan Lucas.