Doug Kalitta, Taylor Barton, Branden Giannini, Jonathan Mawhinney, Justin Johnson and Larry Dittman shared the victory spotlight at the Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Saturday night.

SUPER LATE MODELS: Jeff Connors took the lead on the first lap of the 40-lap Super Late Model feature.  As Connors distanced himself from the field, Scott Gafforini and Taylor Barton began carving their way up through the pack.  The race was halted on lap 7 when the engine in Jason Secor's car expired and laid a ribbon of oil halfway around the track.  Following a lengthy clean-up, the race resumed with Connors in the lead, followed by Wayne Jacks and Steve Anderson.  Gafforini and Barton passed Anderson on lap 10 to claim third and fourth place, respectively.  Just four laps later, Barton passed Gafforini and moved into second place.  Barton chased down Connors on lap 18 and began challenging for the lead. Taylor passed Connors at the halfway point and began to build up a comfortable lead.  Barton's progress was slowed by a crash on lap 25 involving Nick Antrillo and Josh Gross on the front chute. Neither driver was injured.  Barton, who also won the $200-to-win Budweiser Super Late Model Dash, cruised unchallenged to victory - his second of the young 2008 season.  Jeff Connors was second and Scott Gafforini finished third.

Branden Giannini grabbed the lead from Joe Deguevera with three laps remaining to win the 25-lap Late Model feature. Deguevera, who finished second, was disqualified when his car failed to pass post-race inspection.  Late Model heat races were won by Giannini and Chris Bray.

Bear Rzesnowiecky took the lead on lap 8 but was robbed of victory by a smoking car and was forced to exit the 25-lap Legends Car feature early.  Jonathan Mawhinney scored his first win of the 2008 Bullring season.  It was a perfect night for Mawhinney, who also won the Budweiser Legends Cars Dash.

Former Super Late Model driver Justin Johnson won the 25-lap Thunder Roadster feature. The car visited victory lane twice Saturday night as Doug Kalitta won the Stars of the NHRA race with it earlier in the evening. The Thunder Roadster heat race was won by K.J. Garrison.

The thrilling 25-lap Bomber main event was claimed by Larry "The Torch" Dittman.  Dittman waged a race-long battle with leader Fred Harding through lapped traffic.  The pair survived a four-wide pass down the back straightaway with just a handful of laps remaining before Dittman finally took command. Following the 2007 Bullring Bomber champion across the finish line was Harding and Billy Grasser.  Instead of celebrating his victory by making donuts on the track or performing a burnout, Dittman completed 10 push-ups on the roof of his station wagon. Bomber heat races were won by Dittman and Bryan Gerald.

The 15-lap Stars of the NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series Thunder Roadster race was won by Doug Kalitta.  Gary Scelzi made a number of attempts to grab the lead from Kalitta but had to settle for second place.  A few of the NHRA stars experienced some difficulty with making turns.  The caution flag flew on the first lap for Jeg Coughlin's spin in Turn 1.  The second caution flag of the race was thrown for J.R. Todd's backward slide in Turn 2 on lap 4 and the third-and-final caution period was generated by Allen Johnson's go-‘round in Turn 2 on lap 13. European Top Fuel drag racing champion Urs Erbacher served as color commentator with announcers Nathan Hirschi and Chet Christner. ESPN2 NHRA drag racing announcer Dave Rieff served as the honorary starter.

NEXT RACE: On Saturday, April 19, the Bullring will present Education Appreciation Night, featuring the new Super Late Model/Late Model Combo class, Legends Cars, Modifieds, Chargers, Thunder Roadsters, Bandoleros and a demolition derby.  All Clark County School District employees will be admitted free with ID. Spectator gates will open at 5 p.m.  The Bullring's concession stand offers a family-friendly dollar menu: $1 soda, $1 hot dogs and $1 beer.

For more information, please call LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit

All results are unofficial until Monday morning.

40-lap Super Late Model feature: 1. Taylor Barton, 2. Jeff Connors, 3. Scott Gafforini, 4. Wayne Jacks, 5. Steve Anderson, 6. Bob Barker, 7. Fabian Bray, 8. Robert Ewing, 9. Rich Attisani, 10. Dennis Rock Jr., 11. Greg Hanneman, 12. Billy Mitchell, 13. Jim Petrie, 14. Josh Gross, 15. Nick Antrillo, 16. Jason Secor, 17. John Taylor, 18. Jeff Bargerhuff.

25-lap Thunder Roadster feature: 1. Justin Johnson, 2. K.J. Garrison, 3. Jared Carpenter, 4. Josh Gross, 5. Johan Timmer, 6. Roger Hocking, 7. Ed Hohman, 8. Ron McIntyre, 9. Bob Dresser.

25-lap Legends Cars feature: 1. Jonathan Mawhinney, 2. Jimmy Hansen, 3. Jeremiah Wagner, 4. Karl Forman, 5. Jack Madrid, 6. Chad Schug, 7. Derek Frohlich, 8. Austin Childs, 9. Dusty Davis, 10. Broc Murphy, 11. Darren Amidon, 12. Zach Zimmerly, 13. Jacob Bishop, 14. Josh White, 15. Brandon Snow, 16. Damon Blakeman, 17.  Zak Price, 18. Robert D'Ambra, 19. Mark Young, 20. Joe Weitekamp, 21. Bear Rzesnowiecky, 22. Justin Hurdle, 23. Cheyanne Schindler, 24. Jay Beasley, 25. Brianna Holley, 26. John Davis, 27. Brecken Snow, 28. Frank McCourt, 29. Connor Kassik, 30. Jeffrey King.

25-lap Late Model feature: 1. Branden Giannini, 2. Chris Bray, 3. Austin Murphy, 4. John Spilotro, 5. Glen Burke, 6. Dave Campoverde, 7. Matt Frady, 8. Skylar Mortenson, 9. Dan Howell, 10. Chuck Franck, 11. Mike McKearn, 12. Jeff Bargerhuff, 13. Joe Deguevera (disqualified).

25-lap Bomber feature: (Revised April 15) 1. Larry "The Torch" Dittman, 2. Fred Harding, 3. Billy Grasser, 4. Nick Walters, 5. J.J. Nunn, 6. Wade Pearson, 7. Bryan Gerald, 8. Dan Nelson, 9. Anthony "The Ant" Finley, 10. Benjamin Sherard, 11. Jennifer Cunningham, 12. Harold Sherard, 13. Michael Takami.

15-lap Stars of the NHRA Thunder Roadster feature: 1. Doug Kalitta, 2. Gary Scelzi, 3. J.R. Todd, 4. Jeg Coughlin Jr., 5. Allen Johnson, 6. Morgan Lucas.