Phil Goodwin of Henderson went to war on the Charger division on Military Appreciation Night at the Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway and to the victor went the spoils.
Goodwin took the lead on the fourth lap of the first 20-lap Charger feature and went on to win ahead of teammate Mario Opipari and Mike Heck.

The starting line-up was inverted for the second 20-lap Charger feature and pole-sitter Vinny Raucci left the field in his wake, trailed by Mike Heck. Although Goodwin started at the rear after winning the first feature, he charged up to third place by lap 3.  Goodwin moved past Heck for second place on lap 6 and took off after Raucci. Phil drove to the inside of Raucci on lap 13 in Turn 3 and raced into the lead.  Seven laps later, he scored his second win of the night - and his eighth of the season. Utah's Mike Heck finished second and Raucci was third.

Jeff Connors took the lead from pole-sitter Dennis Rock Jr. on the second circuit of the 40-lap Super Late Model/Late Model Combo class main event and pulled away from the rest of the pack. The race ran caution-free and Connors bested the field by a half-lap margin. Matt Jaskol finished second and Taylor Barton was third. Chris Birdsong came home seventh and was the first Late Model across the finish line. Barton later was disqualified when his car failed to pass post-race technical inspection and Rock was moved up to third place.

Doug Hamm took the lead on lap 9 of the 25-lap Modified feature and won his sixth main event of the 2008 campaign. It was also his fourth consecutive win this season. Following Hamm across the finish line was Tim Richter and Craig Stewart. 

Justin Johnson grabbed the lead on lap 9 of the 20-lap Thunder Roadster feature and went on to win his ninth (of 10 held) this year.

Dylan Kwasniewski took the lead from Jeremiah Wagner at the halfway point of the 20-lap Legends Cars feature.  Wagner stayed with Kwasniewski and made his move to retake the lead on lap 14 as the pair came up on the lapped car of Cheyanne Schindler.  Wagner went on to win and Kwasniewski finished second. John Davis finished third.

As Larry "The Torch" Dittman completely dominated the 20-lap Bomber feature, the battle to watch was for second place involving Fred Harding and Billy Bob Grasser.  Dittman took the checkered flag with a half-lap lead (8.9 sec.) on the field.  Grasser repeatedly attempted to pass Harding on the outside but Fred held on for second place.

Jonathan Eakin won the 12-lap Bandolero Bandits feature, his fifth of the 2008 season. Hayley Lager led the four-car freight train across the finish line to win her third 12-lap Bandolero Young Guns feature.

The 20-lap Nevada Coupes feature was won by Randall Boren. Cassandra Stapler, who finished sixth, crashed hard on the back straightaway after the checkered flag flew but was not injured.

Preliminaries:  Qualifying heat races were won by Jonathan Eakin (Bandolero Bandits), Hayley Lager (Bandolero Young Guns), Dow Woerner (Modifieds), Justin Johnson (Thunder Roadsters), Larry Dittman (Bombers), Billy Bob Grasser (Bombers) and Randall Boren (Can-Am Coupes).  The $200 Budweiser Super Late Model/Late Model Combo Dash was won by Matt Jaskol. The Budweiser Legends Cars Dash was won by Dylan Kwasniewski.  USAF Master Sgt. Robert Brooks sang the National Anthem and the American flag was presented by the Nellis Air Force Base Color Guard.

NEXT RACE:  The Bullring will present Cowboy Night on Saturday, Aug. 16, featuring the Super Late Model/Late Model Combo class, Legends Cars, Chargers, Bandoleros, Bombers and Thunder Roadsters. Come dressed as a cowboy and save $2 on adult admission.  Best-appearing cowboy contest, kids' petting zoo, lasso contest, western-themed games and Bomber barrel racing. The Bullring's concession stand features a family-friendly dollar menu, including $1 hot dogs, $1 soda and $1 beer. For more information, please call the Bullring's office at (702) 632-8213 or visit

All results are unofficial until Monday morning.

40-lap Super Late Model/Late Model feature: 1. Jeff Connors, 2. Matt Jaskol, 3. Dennis Rock Jr., 4. Robert Ewing, 5. Scott Gafforini, 6. Chris Birdsong, 7. Branden Giannini, 8. Josh Gross, 9. Jim Petrie, 10. John Spilotro, 11. Stan Mullis, 12. Bear Rzesnowiecky, 13. Joe Deguevera, 14. John Keller, 15. Jeff Bargerhuff, 16. Chris Bray, 17. Skylar Mortenson, 18. Wayne Jacks, 19. Mike McKearn, 20. Taylor Barton (disqualified).

First 20-lap Charger feature: 1. Phil Goodwin, 2. Mario Opipari, 3. Mike Heck, 4. Matt Cunningham, 5. Fred Kiser Jr., 6. Matt Johnson, 7. Chuck Burgess, 8. John Wright, 9. Chad Mattos, 10. James Lauk, 11. Vinny Raucci.

Second 20-lap Charger feature: 1. Phil Goodwin, 2. Mike Heck, 3. Vinny Raucci, 4. Mario Opipari, 5. Fred Kiser Jr, 6. Matt Cunningham, 7. Chuck Burgess, 8. Matt Johnson, 9. John Wright, 10. Chad Mattos, 11. James Lauk.

20-lap Bomber feature: 1. Larry Dittman, 2. Fred Harding, 3. Billy Bob Grasser, 4. Ben Sherard, 5. Wade Pearson, 6. Jennifer Cunningham, 7. Jesse Day, 8. Bryan Gerald, 9. Houston Simonette, 10. Dan Nelson, 11. Gary Wyatt, 12. Roland Pelletier, 13. Joe Crouch, 14. Harold Sherard.

20-lap Legends Cars feature: 1. Jeremiah Wagner, 2. Dylan Kwasniewski, 3. John Davis, 4. Jack Madrid, 5. Justin Hurdle, 6. Frank McCourt, 7. Jay Beasley, 8. Beau Hutchinson, 9. Jacob Bishop, 10. Brianna Holley, 11. Jim Galza, 12. Robert D'Ambra, 13. Cheyanne Schindler, 14. Mark Young, 15. Karl Forman, 16. Brandon Snow.

25-lap Modified feature: 1. Doug Hamm, 2. Tim Richter, 3. Craig Stewart, 4. Scott Olsen, 5. Dow Woerner, 6. Pat Petrie, 7. Dennis Lovelady, 8. Don Sargent, 9. Chris Clyne.

20-lap Thunder Roadster feature: 1. Justin Johnson, 2. Josh Gross, 3. Jared Carpenter, 4. Roger Hocking, 5. Ron McIntyre, 6. Tony Gugliuzza, 7. Damon Blakemon, 8. Fred Chase, 9. Bob Dresser.

12-lap Bandolero Bandits feature: 1. Jonathan Eakin, 2. Jacob Tilton, 3. Nicholas Thigpen, 4. Ian Anderson, 5. Christian Warren, 6. Kayli Barker, 7. Michael Morris, Vincent Raucci Jr.

12-lap Bandolero Young Guns feature: 1. Hayley Lager, 2. Ashlee Ambriz, 3. Jacksen Smith, 4. Patrick O'Hanley, 5. Kolleen Dresser, 6. Rachel Brown, 7. Amanda Gubler, 8. Brooke O'Hanley, 9. Johnny Spilotro.

20-lap Nevada Coupes feature: 1. Randall Boren, 2. Donny Berger, 3. James Castanida, 4. Bob Ferrill, 5. Jaime Hall, 6. Cassandra Stapler, 7. Jim Ralio, 8. Justin Berger, 9. Terry Hizer.