The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway honored eight race winners and 10 champions on the final points night of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series at the 3/8-mile asphalt oval. All police, firefighters and military personnel were admitted free-of-charge and the U.S. Army held an induction ceremony for new recruits before the races started.

Scott Gafforini needed only to finish 13th in the MetroPCS Super Late Model/Late Model Combo class feature to win the 2008 MetroPCS Super Late Model championship but the race had its anxious moments just the same.  Gafforini was involved in an opening-lap, multiple-car melee in Turn 4 but his car did not sustain damage. Gafforini's mettle again was tested on lap 10 when he and Jeff Connors made contact and spun on the back straightaway. Bear Rzesnowiecky made contact with race leader Taylor Barton on lap 15.  Barton spun and both cars were sent to the rear of the field on the restart as Jeff Connors inherited the lead. Connors' luck ran out on the restart when something broke on his car and caused him to crash on the front straightaway. Connors was not injured and Henderson's Dennis Rock Jr.  inherited the lead.  Rzesnowiecky worked his way back up through the pack and caught Rock with 10 laps remaining in the 40-lap finale.  The pair darted through lapped traffic as the laps counted down and Rzesnowiecky made several attempts but Rock won the feature. The win was Rock's first-ever feature win in 12 years of racing. Rzesnowiecky finished second and Bob Barker was third. Gafforini finished seventh and clinched the 2008 title. Chris Bray finished fourth and was the first Late Model across the finish line. Branden Giannini had clinched the Late Model title before tonight's event and did not compete.

Doug "Hound Dog" Hamm finished the season in fine style by winning the Modified feature and championship.  Scott Osborn finished second and Tim Richter was third.

Mario Opipari claimed his second Charger feature of the 2008 season, Matt Johnson was second across the finish line and Vinny Raucci was third. Phil Goodwin finished fourth following an early-race mishap and clinched the 2008 championship, his third at the Bullring.

Dusty Davis won the 20-lap Legends Cars feature, followed by John Davis and Jack Madrid. Jeremiah Wagner, involved in a last-lap mishap was able to secure the Pro championship. Frank McCourt won the Masters title and Dylan Kwasniewski won the Semi-Pro championship. Brandon Snow, who finished seventh, and James Kennedy, who finished 10th, were disqualified after their cars failed to pass post-race technical inspection.

Justin Johnson won the 20-lap Thunder Roadster feature and the 2008 season championship. Josh Gross and Jared Carpenter finished second and third, respectively.

Larry "The Torch" Dittman won the 25-lap Bomber feature. Fred Harding won the championship after finishing second. Wade Pearson finished third.  Dan Nelson crashed on the front straightaway on lap 9 but was not injured.  Race leader Ben Sherard had the race in hand but suffered a mechanical failure with just five laps remaining and finished 15th.  Ms. Toni Jones finished 17th in her first time in a stock car.

The 12-lap Bandolero Bandits feature was won by Jonathan Eakin. Ian Anderson finished second and 2008 champion Jacob Tilton finished third.

Hayley Lager won the 12-lap Bandolero Young Guns feature. Patrick O'Hanley finished second and clinched the 2008 championship.

Preliminaries:  Qualifying heat races were won by Jonathan Eakin (Bandolero Bandits), Hayley Lager (Bandolero Young Guns), Josh Gross (Thunder Roadsters), Larry Dittman and Fred Harding (Bombers), Phil Goodwin (Chargers) and Steve Simon and Craig Stewart (Modifieds). Bear Rzesnowiecky won the $200 Budweiser MetroPCS Super Late Model Dash. Dusty Davis won the Budweiser Legends Cars Dash.

The 2008 Bullring banquet will be held at Sam's Town Live! inside Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall on Nov. 22. Tickets will go on sale Sept. 22.

NEXT RACE:  The Bullring presents its annual Fall Classic on Oct. 24-25. Oct. 24: Fall Classic Open Comp qualifying, heat races and Bomber Enduro 100.  Oct. 25: Fall Classic Open Comp Last-Chance Races and features (MetroPCS Super Late Model/Late Model Combo class, Legends Cars, Modifieds). The Bullring's concession stand features a family-friendly dollar menu, including $1 hot dogs, $1 soda and $1 beer. For more information, please call the Bullring's office at (702) 632-8213 or visit

All results are unofficial until Monday morning.

2008 Bullring champions: Scott Gafforini (MetroPCS Super Late Model), Branden Giannini (Late Model), Phil Goodwin (Charger), Doug "Hound Dog" Hamm (Modified), Fred Harding (Bomber), Justin Johnson (Thunder Roadsters), Jeremiah Wagner (Legends Cars - Pro), Frank McCourt (Legends Cars - Masters), Dylan Kwasniewski (Legends Cars - Semi-Pro), Patrick O'Hanley (Bandolero - Young Guns), Jacob Tilton (Bandolero - Bandits).

40-lap MetroPCS Super Late Model/Late Model feature: 1. Dennis Rock Jr., 2. Bear Rzesnowiecky, 3. Bob Barker, 4. Chris Bray, 5. Taylor Barton, 6. Fabian Bray, 7. Scott Gafforini, 8. Jim Petrie, 9. John Spilotro, 10. Greg Hanneman, 11. Brian Wulfenstein, 12. Dan Mortenson, 13. Chuck Deguevara, 14. Dave Quartero, 15. Robert Ewing, 16. Jeff Connors, 17. Mike Lansing, 18. Matt Jaskol, 19. Glen Burke, 20. Jeff Bargerhuff.

25-lap Modified feature: 1. Doug Hamm, 2. Scott Osborn, 3. Tim Richter, 4. Craig Stewart, 5. Dennis Lovelady, 6. Don Sargent, 7. Dow Woerner, 8. Chris Bray, 9. Steve Simon, 10. Pat Petrie, 11. Chris Clyne, 12. Jovan Halen.

25-lap Charger feature: 1. Mario Opipari, 2. Matt Johnson, 3. Vinny Raucci, 4. Phil Goodwin, 5. Mike Heck, 6. Matt Cunningham, 7. Chuck Burgess, 8. Becky Torbergson, 9. Jerry Gentry, 10. James Lauk, 11. Michael Riefler.

25-lap Bomber feature: 1. Larry "The Torch" Dittman, 2. Fred Harding, 3. Wade Pearson, 4. Billy Bob Grasser, 5. Randall Boren, 6. Houston Simonette, 7. Jesse Day, 8. Harold Sherard, 9. "Hoodless J.J." Nunn, 10. Gary Wyatt, 11. Bryan Gerald, 12. Jennifer Cunningham, 13. Bob Carvella, 14. Roland Pelletier, 15. Ben Sherard, 16. Dan Nelson, 17. Toni Jones.

20-lap Legends Cars feature: 1. Dusty Davis, 2. John Davis, 3. Jack Madrid, 4. Karl Forman, 5. Brecken Snow, 6. Beau Hutchinson, 7. Robert D'Ambra, 8. Tyler Fabozzi, 9. Brent Scheideman, 10. Dylan Kwasniewski, 11. Jay Beasley, 12. Shawn Snow, 13. Frank McCourt, 14. Brianna Holley, 15. Mark Young, 16. Jim Galza, 17. David Boardman, 18. Alex Forman, 19. Jeremiah Wagner, 20. Cheyanne Schindler, 21. Brandon Snow (disqualified), 22. James Kennedy (disqualified).

20-lap Thunder Roadster feature: 1. Justin Johnson, 2. Josh Gross, 3. Jared Carpenter, 4. Fred Chase, 5. Bob Dresser, 6. Tony Gugliuzza, 7. Damon Blakemon.

12-lap Bandolero Bandits feature: 1. Jonathan Eakin, 2. Ian Anderson, 3. Jacob Tilton, 4. Nicholas Thigpen, 5. Christian Warren, 6. Vincent Raucci Jr., 7. Kayli Barker, 8. Michael Morris, 9. Austin Blair, 10. Christian Glass.

12-lap Bandolero Young Guns feature: 1. Hayley Lager, Patrick O'Hanley, 3. Amanda Gubler, 4. Kolleen Dresser, 5. Ashlee Ambriz, 6. Jacksen Smith, 7. Rachel Brown, 8. Jairo Avila Jr., 9. Mariah Talbert, 10. Aaron Anderson, 11. Johnny Spilotro, 12. Gabriela Glass, 13. Brooke O'Hanley.