Defending champion Scott Gafforini of Las Vegas won the 40-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature tonight at the Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Derek Thorn of Bakersfield, Calif. won the Spears Southwest Tour Century Boatland 125 in convincing fashion.

Glen Burke took the lead from Steve Anderson on lap 3 of the 40-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature. Scott Gafforini took second place from Rick Chavez on lap 10 and the battle for the lead was on. Gafforini drove to the inside of Burke on lap 12 and took command of the race. Gafforini went on to win and Burke held off David Anderson for second place at the finish.

The Spears Southwest Tour Century Boatland 125 got off to a rousing start as Dave Byrd crashed on the front straightaway and Jacob Gomes lost his left-rear tire and spun in Turn 3 on the opening lap. Ross Strmiska took the lead on the restart. Just as Strmiska settled into first place, Jared Vorse of Olympia, Wash. took it away. The running order on lap 75 was Derek Thorn first, Jim Pettitt II second and Vorse third. (Thorn was the fastest qualifier with a lap time of 14.584 sec./02.567 mph. and started ninth after the inversion.) The caution flag flew on lap 97 for debris on the track, erasing Thorn’s three-second lead on the second-place car. The race restarted and Thorn managed to pull away from Pettitt and Vorse again. Thorn took the checkered flag with a 1.2-second lead over Pettitt. M.K. Kanke of Frazier Park, Calif. grabbed third place and Vorse finished fourth.

James Wingard won the 25-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature. Patrick O’Hanley was second and Chuck Burgess finished third. Kolleen Dresser and Kayli Barker completed the top five. Wingard also won the 8-lap Super Stock heat race.

Kirk Hance led the first 17 laps of the 25-lap NASCAR Bomber feature but his car suffered mechanical woes and he was forced to pit. Dallas Simonette was in the lead when his right-front tire blew out and Jason Kiser inherited the lead. Following Kiser under the checkered flag were Wade Pearson and Michaekl Takami. The 8-lap Bomber heat races were won by Simonette and Takami.

Vincent Raucci Jr. won the 12-lap Silver Star Plumbing Bandolero Outlaw feature, followed by Riley Herbst and Erika Thigpen. The 12-lap Silver Star Plumbing Bandolero Bandit feature was won by Phillip Root. Chris Trickle was second and Caden Carlin was third.

The 20-lap USLCI Thunder Car feature was won by J. Avila Jr. of Los Angeles. It was his second consecutive win in the division. Shaun Polack finished second and Ron Reed was third.

The 25-lap American Band Legend Cars Semi-Pro/Young Lions feature was won by Tye Mihocko. Zane Smith was second and Jonathan St. Ours finished third. Dustin Ash won the 25-lap American Band Legend Cars Pro/Masters feature by holding off Jason Irwin at the checkered flag. Dylan Cappelo was third.

NEXT RACE: Saturday, Sept. 22 – NASCAR Super Late Models, NASCAR Super Stocks (twin features), NASCAR Bombers, USLCI Legends Cars, USLCI Bandoleros. Spectator gates will open at 5 p.m. Fans may save money by purchasing tickets in advance at the LVMS ticket office or by calling (702) 644-4444.

For more information, please call LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit Follow LVMS on Facebook and Twitter.

20-lap USLCI Thunder Car feature: 1. J. Avila Jr, 2. Shaun Polack, 3. Ron Reed, 4. Nick D’Egidio, 5. Joshua Quartaro, 6. Brian Reed, 7. Steve Tilton. 8. Chris Bosley, 9. Jacob Tilton, 10. Dylan Cappelo.

12-lap Silver Star Plumbing Bandolero Outlaws feature: 1. Vincent Raucci Jr., 2. Riley Herbst, 3. Erika Thigpen, 4. Jacon Quartaro, 5. Cami Burke, 6. Austin Toddy, 7. Noah Gragson.

12-lap Silver Star Plumbing Bandolero Bandits feature: 1. Phillip Root, 2. Chris Trickle, 3. Caden Carlin, 4. Ryan Vargas, 5. Gianna Marretti, 6. Sam Jacks, 7. Dezel West, 8. Gino Marretti, 9. Tommy Trickle, 10. Mason Sargent, 11. Kyle Jacks.

25-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature: 1. James Wingard, 2. Patrick O’Hanley, 3. Chuck Burgess, 4. Kolleen Dresser, 5. Kayli Barker, 6. Mike McKearn, 7. Curt Green, 8. Wyatt Harwood.

25-lap NASCAR Bomber feature: 1. Jason Kiser, 2. Wade Pearson, 3. Michael Takami, 4. Steve Borkowski, 5. Pete Meyer, 6. Martin Sullins, 7. Nathan Boss, 8. Adam Simon, 9. Dallas Simonette, 10. Judy Rowe, 11. Anthony Reigert, 12. Kirk Hance, 13. Justin Griffiths, 14. John Zaretzke, 15. Jason Sullins, 16. Don Sargent, 17. Jim Merlino, 18. “Big Jim” Sherard.

25-lap American Band Legend Cars Pro/Masters feature: 1. Dustin Ash, 2. Jason Irwin, 3. Dylan Cappelo, 4. Brent Scheidemantle, 5. Donny St. Ours, 6. Chad Shug, 7. Andrew Muscannell, 8. Ian Anderson, 9. Nick Thigpen, 10. Austin Reed, 11. Cale Kanke, 12. J. Avila Jr., 13. Fletch Hammond, 14. Michael Todd Glazier, 15. Doug Petsto, 16. Darren Amidon, 17. Robby Guevara, 18. Gary Scherell.

25-lap American Band Legend Cars Semi-Pro/Young Gun feature: 1. Tye Mihocko, 2. Zane Smith, 3. Jonathan St. Ours, 4. Ryan Cansdale, 5. Joshua Jackson, 6. Ricky Schlick, 7. Bryan Grandin, 8. Buddy Sheppard, 9. Christian McGee, 10. Blake Olsen, 11. Blaine Perkins, 12. Nikky Ssaxon, 13. Chris Trickle, 14. Lacie Price, 15. Parker Malone, 16. Mikey Lovas, 17. Michael Womack, 18. Zac Stepke, 19. Peyton Saxton.

Century Boatland 125 – Spears Southwest Tour feature: 1. Derek Thorn (Bakersfield, Calif.), 2. Jim Pettitt II (Prunedale, Calif.), 3. M.K. Kanke (Frazier Park, Calif.), 4. Jared Vorse (Olympia, Wash.), 5. Jason Gilbert (Dublin, Calif.), 6. Eric Schmidt (Roseville, Calif.), 7. Jacob Gomes (Manteca, Calif.), 8. Keith Spangler (Chatsworth, Calif.), 9. Jonathan Gomez (Buhl, Idaho), 10. Ross Strmiska (Manteca, Calif.), 11. Craig Raudman (Cottonwood, Calif)., 12. Cody Hodgson (Escalon, Calif.), 13. Ken Benhamou (San Ramon, Calif.), 14. Jeff Oleen (Bethesda, Md.), 15. Michael Sandoval (Ripon, Calif.), 16. Scott Sanchez (Livermore, Calif.), 17. Carlos Vieira (Livingston, Calif.), 18. Bobby Hodges (Carson City, Nev.), 19. Brennan Newberry (Bakersfield, Calif.), 20. Zane Lovelace (Roseville, Calif.), 21. Tim Smith (Bakersfield, Calif.), 22. David Mayhew (Bakersfield, Calif.), 23. Kyle Heckman (Nipomo, Calif.), 24. Dave Byrd (French Camp, Calif.).

40-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature: 1. Scott Gafforini, 2. Glen Burke, 3. David Anderson, 4. Steve Anderson, 5. Rick Chavez, 6. Dennis Rock Jr., 7. John Thomson, 8. Stan Mullis.