Courtesy: Dick Jordan, USA

USAC National Sprint Car Champion Levi Jones of Olney, Ill. was the class of the field in Friday night's 30-lap Las Vegas Dirt Classic USAC/CRA Sprint Car race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway's dirt track.

Starting on the outside of the front row, Levi proceeded to lead wire-to-wire in his Hoosier Tire/Weld Wheels DRC/Claxton to beat fast qualifier Jesse Hockett, USAC/CRA point leader Cory Kruseman, Danny Sheridan and Thursday night Las Vegas race winner Blake Miller. Jones' lead seemed to blossom on each restart following a caution. He also won his heat race and emeged in second place in the new USAC/CRA standings behind Kruseman.

Rodney Argo and Nic Faas also won heats. Two challengers were not factors at the end. Mike Spencer's race virtually ended when he encountered brake problems on lap 19 and Cole Whitt slid over the cushion and into the fourth turn wall while running near the front on lap 20.

Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., won the 30-lap Western All Stars Late Model finale.  Scott James finished second and Bobby Hogge IV was third. 


Courtesy: Dick Jordan, USAC

"I have to admit I was surprised," said Blake Miller after winning Thursday's opening event of the Las Vegas Dirt Classic for USAC/CRA Sprint cars at Las Vegas Motor Speedway's dirt track. The surprise, however, came more from being able to hold off series point leader Cory Kruseman and Casey Shuman in the frantic finish than making the pass for the lead with five laps to go in the 30-lap race.

"I went to the cushion in turn two and that move paid off," continued the Yorba Linda, Calif. driver, who piloted the Roy Miller Freightlines/Gardner Pipe & Mechanical Sled/Shaver. His win left him fourth in the new point standings going into Friday's event at the 1/2-mile dirt oval. Cole Whitt and Tyler Brown rounded out the "top-five" at the finish.

Jesse Hockett led the first nine laps from the pole, trailed Whitt for the nextfive, then returned to lead the next 10. On lap 25 Miller made his move and never looked back. If he had he'd have seen plenty of late-race challenges.

The race was extremely competitive and feature wholesale position changes among the leaders in the closing laps before a sizeable crowd who spent the last 10 laps on their feet.

Mike Spencer, who finished second in the 2007 standings, hopped a tire and hit the outside wall on lap 19, ending his bid for a top finish. Four drivers flipped during the program.

Kruseman's runner-up finish left him with a 38-point lead over Whitt going into the Friday races.

Jimmy Mars won the 30-lap Western All-Stars Late Model feature.  Scott James was second and Tim McCreadie finished third.

The 10-lap Bomber feature was won by Fred Harding.