Corrected: April 28, 2003


Lewis, Lyons, Kimball, Farmer, Machael win on

VP Fuels Racer Appreciation Night


            Las Vegas firefighter Andy Lewis won the Motorcycle finale of the second round of the 2003 Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on VP Fuels Racer Appreciation Night.  Lewis' F.I.R.E. Kawasaki defeated Dave Phillips of Las Vegas, 8.117 sec./139.46 mph to 9.585 sec./142.81 mph.

            Kurt Lyons of Ventura, Calif., defeated Tony Griese of Las Vegas in the final round of Super Pro eliminations.  2002 champion Scott Machael defeated Justin Lamb of Henderson to claim the Pro division trophy.  Errol Framer defeated Ron Buzbee for Street honors.  Aaron Kimball and Michael Dudley, both of Las Vegas, faced each other in the Sport Compact final, with Kimball claiming his first victory of the new season.

            Jerry's Nugget Casino presents a gift certificate to the racer who earns the best reaction time on a winning run in the first round during each Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series event.  Jerry's Nugget Reaction Time Bonus Awards went to: Michael Dudley (Sport Compact), Tony Griese (Super Pro), Andy Lewis (Motorcycle), Ron Buzbee (Street) and Scott Machael (Pro).

            Run-for-the-Money winners included: Sandra Darby, Scott Parsons, Dennis Evans and Carl Cannavo.

            On Saturday afternoon, Tristan Craig of Henderson scored his second consecutive win of the 2003 season in the Thunder category in NHRA Jr. Dragster competition.  Neisha Mackay of Sandy, Utah, claimed Lightning division honors.

            The Strip at LVMS will present Titan Auto Insurance Midnight Mayhem ¿ the safe alternative to illegal street racing ¿ on Friday, May 2 at 10 p.m.

            The Strip also will play host to the All Harley Drag Racing Association (AHDRA) Nationals May 2-4.

            For more information, call The Strip at (702) 632-8213 or visit



Winner: Kurt Lyons (Ventura, Calif.) dragster 8.787 sec./152.54 mph

Runner-up: Tony Griese (Las Vegas) '84 Pontiac Trans Am 8.684 sec./159.40 mph

No. 1 Qualifier: Colt Dwyer (Palmdale, Calif.)



Winner: Scott Machael (Las Vegas) '63 Dodge Polara 12.742 sec./103.42 mph

Runner-up: Justin Lamb (Henderson) '88 Monte Carlo (foul) 14.783 sec./97.79 mph

No. 1 Qualifier: Earl Blake (Las Vegas)


STREET (corrected results)

Winner: Errol Farmer (Las Vegas) 14.310 sec./96.89 mph

Runner-up: Ron Buzbee (Las Vegas) 15.073 sec./88.30 mph

No. 1 Qualifier: Nick Ariotti



Winner: Andy Lewis (Las Vegas) Kawasaki 8.117 sec./139.96 mph

Runner-up: Dave Phillips (Las Vegas) '77 Kawasaki 9.585 sec./142.81 mph



Winner: Aaron Kimball (Las Vegas) '92 Nissan Maxima 16.012 sec./88.41 mph

Runner-up: Michael Dudley (Las Vegas) '00 VW Beetle 18.923 sec./69.55 mph

No. 1 Qualifier: Aaron Kimball