Machael wins 2003 NHRA King of the Track title at The Strip;

Final-round wins to Machael, Holly, Dudley, Lewis, Winters


Last year, Scott Machael of Las Vegas won The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway's NHRA King of the Track title.  This year, it was dad's turn.  Dwight Machael, Scott's father and The Strip's 2000 Sportsman champion, won Saturday's hotly contested NHRA King of the Track competition.  The final-round winner in each class was placed in the King of the Track category and raced each other for the crown.  Machael defeated Randy Holly to claim the King of the Track jacket and the coveted NHRA "Wally" trophy.

Holly, The Strip's 2000 Pro category champion, faced tall odds in the final round against Machael.  He came to the starting line knowing his car had sustained damage in the previous round and could only hope that Machael would red-light (foul start) as the Christmas tree counted down.  But such was not the case and Holly could only watch as his competitor raced down the quarter mile to victory.

"This is great, especially after my son won last year," said Machael, as he clutched the NHRA trophy in victory lane.  "I had to show him ¿ he's been kind of a smartie all year.  I had to show him dad was still there.

Son Scott now drives the Dodge Polara convertible that propelled Dwight to the 2000 Sportsman title.

"This car (1966 Dodge Coronet) is a Stock Eliminator car.  It¿s been reclassified to J/SA.  Scott's doing awful well in the convertible, but I like this car too."

In Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series action, Machael also claimed the Pro class trophy after final-round competitor Alfred Sweeting fouled at the starting line.  Randy Holly of Las Vegas defeated Carl Cannavo of North Las Vegas for Super Pro honors.  Las Vegas firefighter Andy Lewis won the Motorcycle class, but was unable to compete in the King of the Track competition.  Ron Winters of Las Vegas topped Errol Farmer in the Street division's final round and Michael Dudley defeated Bill Dudley for the Sport Compact award.

Jerry's Nugget Casino Reaction Time Bonus Awards were earned by Tim Matthews (Pro), Ron Landram (Super Pro), Errol Farmer (Street), Michael Dudley (Sport Compact) and Leo Shaver (Motorcycle).  The award is presented to the driver or rider in each class who turns in the best reaction time on a winning run in the first round of eliminations.  Both Landram and Matthews cut perfect lights of .500.

On Saturday afternoon, Mackenzie Phillips of Cedar City, Utah, won the Thunder Class trophy during Short Line Express Markets NHRA Jr. Dragster competition.  Jacklyn Springer of La Crescenta, Calif., won the Lightning division.  Ryen Lamb (Thunder) and Zachary Cummings (Lightning) earned No. 1 Qualifier status.

The Strip will present another two-day weekend of drag racing action June 13-14, beginning with a bracket test 'n' tune session from 5:30-9:00 p.m., followed by Titan Auto Insurance Midnight Mayhem ¿ The Strip's safe alternative to illegal street racing ¿ at 10 p.m.  On Saturday morning, the Short Line Express Markets NHRA Jr. Drag Racing League will take center stage for the fifth points race of the 2003 season.  On Saturday evening, The Strip will present the California Independent Funny Car Association (CIFCA) alcohol-burning nostalgia Funny Cars, the Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series, Jett Field's Jett Force jet car, Ed "Outlaw" Jones' stagecoach wheelstander and a street rod cruise hosted by the Hustlers car club.


King of the Track

Winner: Dwight Machael (Las Vegas) '66 Coronet 12.831 sec./86.38 mph

Runner-up: Randy Holley (Las Vegas) '73 Barracuda (broke)


Super Pro

Winner: Randy Holly (Las Vegas) '73 Barracuda 12.144 sec./118.33 mph

Runner-up: Carl Cannavo (North Las Vegas) '95 Yancer dragster (fouled) 12.058 sec./85.77 mph



Winner: Dwight Machael (Las Vegas) '66 Coronet  12.720 sec./103.92 mph

Runner-up: Alfred Sweeting (Las Vegas) '67 Camaro (fouled) 10.748 sec./115.72 mph



Winner: Ron Winters (Las Vegas) '68 El Camino 16.858 sec./78.91 mph

Runner-up: Errol Farmer (Las Vegas) '96 Camaro (fouled) 14.606 sec./94.83 mph



Winner: Andy Lewis (Las Vegas) 8.171 sec./150.11 mph

Runner-up: Leo Shaver (Las Vegas) '87 Kawasaki 10.228 sec./127.91 mph


Sport Compact

Winner: Michael Dudley (Las Vegas) '00 VW Beetle 19.140 sec./71.68 mph

Runner-up: Bill Dudley (Las Vegas) '00 Mazda 19.738 sec./69.72 mph


Jr. Dragster -- Thunder Division

Winner: Mackenzie Phillips (Cedar City, Utah) 12.994 sec./47.86 mph

Runner-up: Luke Winters (Las Vegas) 12.704 sec./51.33 mph

No. 1 Qualifier: Ryen Lamb (Henderson)


Jr. Dragster -- Lightning Division

Winner: Jacklyn Springer (La Crescenta, Calif.) 9.100 sec./77.50 mph

Runner-up: Adam Weathersbee (Sugarloaf, Calif.) 8.230 sec./75.12 mph

No. 1 Qualifier: Zachary Cummings (Boulder City)