LeClair wins Jerry's Nugget Super Pro finale at The Strip


Cory LeClair of Pahrump, Nev., outran Dana Young of Las Vegas to claim the Super Pro finale at the Jerry¿s Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series points race Saturday night at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. 

Bob Moudree of Las Vegas claimed top Pro honors and Suzanne Adamson won the final round of Street competition.  Dave Phillips won the Motorcycle final and Bill Dudley claimed yet another Sport Compact trophy.  The West Coast Corvette Challenge was won by Gary Combs of Torrance, Calif.

Jerry¿s Nugget Reaction Time Bonus Awards were won by Bill Dudley (Sport Compact), Barb Walsh (Street), Bill Muller (Pro), Dave Phillips (Motorcycle) and Paul Elms (Super Pro).  The award is won by posting the best reaction time on a winning run during the first round of competition.  All final-round winners in the Jerry¿s Nugget Series also received gift certificates to Uncle Angelo¿s Pizza Joint, located inside Jerry¿s Nugget Casino.

Saturday morning¿s Meadow Gold NHRA Jr. Dragster Series Presented By Short Line Express Markets races were cancelled due to weather.

The next event at The Strip is the sixth annual NHRA SummitRacing.com Nationals, April 14-17.  Tickets may be purchased by visiting the LVMS ticket office, by calling (702) 644-4444, or on LVMS¿ website (www.lvms.com).


Results, indicating: driver/rider name, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time (ET) and top speed.



Winner:  Cory LeClair (Pahrump)  1992 Swindell dragster  .146  8.518 sec./154.16 mph.

Runner-up:  Dana Young (Las Vegas)  1963 Nova  .013  9.238 sec./141.06 mph.



Winner:  Bob Moudree (Las Vegas)  1970 Nova  .025  10.101 sec./129.59 mph.

Runner-up:  Bob Coulter (Las Vegas) 1964 Falcon  .044  12.019 sec./111.56 mph.



Winner:  Suzanne Adamson (Las Vegas)  1999 Grand Prix  .049  15.735 sec.

Runner-up:  Errol Farmer (Las Vegas)  1971 Challenger  .009  12.302 sec./106.81 mph.



Winner: Bill Dudley (Las Vegas)  1986 Nissan  .034  17.976 sec./72.37 mph.

Runner-up:  Bob McArther  (North Las Vegas)  1990 Geo Storm  .660  17.373 sec./75.55 mph.



Winner:  Dave Phillips (Las Vegas)  1977 Kawasaki  .073  9.433 sec./135.80 mph.

Runner-up:  Ron Glendhill (Magna, Utah)  2001 Hayabusa  .055  10.211 sec./122.91 mph.