National Dragster Challenge Oct. 1 at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway:

Mock, Shupe, Machael, Phillips and Loucks score "Wally" trophies


            LAS VEGAS - The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway presented National Dragster Challenge Night on its final evening of the 2005 Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series for bracket racers on Saturday, Oct. 1.  Final-round winners received the coveted NHRA "Wally" trophy, named after National Hot Rod Association founder Wally Parks.

            Racers taking "Wally" home with them Saturday night included: Jerry Mock (Super Pro), Dwight Machael (Pro), Walter Shupe (Street), Dave Phillips (Motorcycle) and David Loucks (Sport Compact).

            Walter Shupe of Las Vegas hit a grand slam Saturday night, unofficially clinching the 2005 Street championship, winning the Jerry's Nugget Reaction-Time Bonus Award - not to mention earning the final-round victory over Ron Winters.  The Shupe-Winters finale was a fight to the finish: both drivers cut good (and close) reaction times, .006 (Shupe) to .008 (Winters).

            Bill Dudley, 62, of Las Vegas, unofficially clinched his ninth drag racing championship Saturday.  Although he did not reach the final round, his Sport Compact crown virtually was guaranteed by entering the final race 150 points ahead of his closest competitor.

            For Dwight Machael, Saturday's “Wally” win in the Pro category brought the Machael household total to five.

            Official final points and champions will be announced Tuesday.

            On Saturday afternoon, Ken Upton of Garden Grove, Calif., defeated Carl Cannavo of N. Las Vegas to claim the Super E Association win.

Jerry’s Nugget Reaction-Time Bonus Awards ($25 gift certificates) were won by: Jim Heaton (Pro), Travis Theobold (Super Pro), Walter Shupe (Street), Leo Shaver (Motorcycle) and Chris Devereaux (Sport Compact).  The award is won by posting the best reaction time on a winning run during the first round of eliminations.

All final-round winners also received $20 gift certificates to Uncle Angelo’s Pizzeria, located

inside Jerry’s Nugget Casino.


Results, indicating driver/rider, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time (E.T.) and top speed:


Winner: Jerry Mock (Henderson) 1970 Nova  .042  11.891 sec./111.34 mph.

Runner-up: Chris Naffziger (Las Vegas) 1970 Nova  .015  9.815 sec./128.95 mph.



Winner: Dwight Machael (Las Vegas)  1963 Dodge Polara  .070  12.957 sec./100.07 mph.

Runner-up: Richard Alderete (Las Vegas) 1966 Acadian  .080  12.808 sec./106.29 mph.



Winner: Walter Shupe (Las Vegas) 1984 Camaro  .006  12.884 sec./98.18 mph.

Runner-up: Ron Winters (Las Vegas) 1968 El Camino  .008  16.476 sec./82.87 mph.



Winner: David Loucks (Las Vegas) 1996 Pontiac Sunfire  .146  19.018 sec./73.32 mph.

Runner-up: Billy Fraker (Las Vegas) 1985 Toyota Supra  .156  14.661 sec./95.53 mph.



Winner: David Phillips (Las Vegas) 1977 Kawasaki  .081  9.430 sec./135.55 mph.

Runner-up: Kahea Woods (Las Vegas) 1980 Suzuki  .035  10.920 sec./118.35 mph.