Phlegar, Woods, Emanuel, Irving final-round victors at The Strip during eighth round of Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series


            Becky Phlegar (Super Pro), Kahea Woods (Motorcycle), Rick Emanuel (Sportsman) and John Irving (Pro) all scored final-round victories Saturday night at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway during the eighth round of the Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series.

            Phlegar of Las Vegas defeated Colt Dwyer of Palmdale, Calif., for the Super Pro victory.  Phlegar's 1972 Marie Callender's Chevelle outran Dwyer's 2005 Undercover dragster 10.733 sec./121.92 mph to 7.758 sec./174.12 mph.  Phlegar also posted a slightly better reaction time, .027 to Dwyer's .030.

            John Irving defeated fellow Boulder City resident Nick Ariotti for the Pro category victory.

            Rick Emanuel's Las Vegas-based Hollywood Auto Nova defeated Henderson's Tony Niswonger for Sportsman honors and Kahea Woods' Torco Oil Suzuki outran Jason Whitenack's Kawasaki to claim Motorcycle honors.

            Jerry's Nugget Reaction Time Bonus Awards were earned by Hays Yergensen (Pro, with a perfect .000 reaction time), Carl Cannavo (Super Pro), Robbie Irving (Sportsman) and Rick Newport (Motorcycle). The bonus is earned by posting the best reaction time on a winning run during the first round of eliminations.

            The Las Vegas Corvette Club finale was won by Nick Montana.

            The evening also included a classic car show by the Hustlers Car Club.

            The next event at The Strip at LVMS is the BFGoodrich Midnight Mayhem Back-to-School Special, from 7 p.m.-2 a.m. on Friday, Aug. 25.  The event includes the annual $500-to-win fantasy schoolgirl contest, street-legal racing, DJs and a car show. Entry fee is $10 to race, $5 for spectators. For more information, please visit or call The Strip at LVMS at (702) 632-8213.


Final-round results, indicating driver/rider, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time (ET) and top speed:



Winner: Becky Phlegar (Las Vegas) 1972 Chevelle  .027  10.733 sec./121.92 mph.

Runner-up: Colt Dwyer (Palmdale, Calif.) 2005Undercover dragster  .030  7.758 sec./174.12 mph.



Winner: John Irving (Boulder City) Chrysler  .132  13.104 sec./98.50 mph.

Runner-up: Nick Ariotti (Boulder City) 1971 Duster  .138  12.100 sec./105.23 mph.



Winner: Rick Emanuel (Las Vegas) 1974 Nova  .122  12.887 sec./102.06 mph.

Runner-up: Tony Niswonger (Henderson) 2004 Dodge Ram  .052  17.745 sec./76.27 mph.



Winner: Kahea Woods (Las Vegas) 1980 Suzuki  .042  10.573 sec./120.58 mph.

Runner-up: Jason Whitenack (Las Vegas) Kawasaki  .046  8.835 sec./144.19 mph.