Le Clair wins Super Pro finale, four champions crowned on final night of Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series


            Corey Le Clair of Pahrump, Nev., won the Super Pro finale at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway Saturday on the final night of the 2006 Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series for local bracket racers.  Le Clair faced tall odds as he met 2005 Super Pro champion Chris Naffziger in the final round of eliminations.  Le Clair's dragster outran Naffziger's Nova, 8.277 sec./159.85 mph to 9.734 sec./136.18 mph (with near-identical reaction times of .012 to .013) to claim the win and the NHRA "Wally" trophy on National Dragster Challenge Night. Despite his final-round loss, Naffziger earned enough points to claim his second consecutive Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series title.

            Steve Kachoian of North Las Vegas defeated Mike Burris for Pro division honors. Dan Reaume of Kingman, Ariz., defeated Las Vegas' Rick Emanuel in the Sportsman category and Jason Whitenack downed Larry Taylor for the Motorcycle title.

            All final-round winners received NHRA "Wally" trophies.

            The following drivers/riders clinched 2006 Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series titles in their respective divisions: Chris Naffziger (Super Pro), Leo Shaver (Motorcycle), John Irving (Pro) and Dan Reaume (Sportsman).  Official final point standings will be released Tuesday.

            Jerry's Nugget Reaction Time Bonus Awards were won by Jessie Keller (Pro), Kyle Hirschi (Sportsman), Kahea Woods (Motorcycle) and Jimmy Lintz (Super Pro).  The award is earned by posting the best reaction time on a winning run during the first round of eliminations.

Neil Evans won the Duck Race (a consolation event for drivers eliminated in the first or second round).


Final-round results, indicating driver/rider, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time (ET) and top speed:



Winner: Corey Le Clair (Pahrump, Nev.) 1992 Swindell dragster  .012  8.277 sec./159.85 mph.

Runner-up: Chris Naffziger (Las Vegas) 1970 Nova  .013  9.734 sec./136.18 mph.



Winner: Steve Kachoian (N. Las Vegas) 1970 Chevelle  .147  12.472 sec./76.26 mph.

Runner-up: Mike Burris (N. Las Vegas) 1973 Nova  -.076 (foul)  11.994 sec./113.06 mph.



Winner: Dan Reaume (Kingman, Ariz.) 1965 Ranchero  .096  14.335 sec./95.50 mph.

Runner-up: Rick Emanuel (Las Vegas) 1974 Nova  -.182 (foul)  12.843 sec./101.32 mph.



Winner: Jason Whitenack (Las Vegas) Kawasaki  .067  8.983 sec./130.35 mph.

Runner-up: Jerry Taylor (Las Vegas) Kawasaki  .048  11.617 sec./119.03 mph.