The 2008 edition of the Super Tuner Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway now is history.  Although weather - lightning and rain - threatened both days, it affected neither fan participation nor on-track competition.

FORMULA DRIFT (DRIFTING):  Toshiki Yoshioka of Hiroshima, Japan, won the inaugural Formula Drift event at The Strip at LVMS over Daijiro Yoshihara of Tokyo.  Samuel Hubinette of Sweden finished third and Michihiro Takatori was fourth.

The win was Yoshioka's second Las Vegas drifting victory: he won the inaugural D1 Grand Prix at The Strip at LVMS in 2006.  To reach the final, Yoshioka defeated Stephan Verdier in the first round, Rhys Millen in the second and Hubinette in the third.

Local drifting driver Tommy Suell of Las Vegas failed to qualify for the Top 16.

LOCAL WINNER: Juveral Santana of Las Vegas won the Quick 16 finale in Battle of the Imports competition.


Pro Front-Wheel-Drive: Ed Bergenholtz (2008 Mazda 6, Tustin, Calif.) defeated Chris Rado (2008 Toyota Scion, Reading, Pa.) 10.218 sec./142.49 mph to 11.543 sec./91.58 mph.

Pro Stock: Jeremy Lookofsky (2006 Honda Civic, Simi Valley, Calif.) defeated Mike Michelson (1989 Honda CRX, Gardena, Calif.).

Pro Import: Bryan Jimenez (2007 Chevrolet Cobalt, Houston, Texas) defeated Jake Montgomery (1992 Eagle Talon, Napa, Idaho).

Quick 16: Juveral Santana (Las Vegas) defeated Sean Kay (Las Vegas).

Sportsman E.T.: Kris Heikes (Grand Junction, Colo.) defeated Victor Siguenza (Las Vegas).

Street Comp: Anthony DiNallo (N. Hollywood) defeated Cortney Green (Taylorsville, Utah).

Street Performance: Ben Tran (Los Angeles) defeated John Sauro (Las Vegas).

Street Stock: Edwin Argueta (Arleta, Calif.) defeated David Arellano (Las Vegas).

Street Tuner: Cody Phillips defeated Matt Lewis (Las Vegas).

The Strip at LVMS is dark until Aug. 1, for the Midnight Mayhem Presented By MetroPCS Dog Days Showdown  

For more information, please call LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit