Peyton Januik won the Jr. Comp division title at the NHRA Division 7 Jr. Finals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Sunday, Sept. 11. A record 155 racers competed at the famed drag strip over the course of the weekend.

The Las Vegas resident defeated Joey Petrone of Chandler, Ariz., in the championship finals with an ET of 6.919 seconds. Brooke Marquez, who hails from Winslow, Ariz., but is part of Team Vegas, was runner-up in the 10-12 age bracket, falling to Cy Mitchell of Thousand Oaks, Calif., in the finals.

On Saturday, Sept. 10, Team Vegas members Keoki Desa (13-14 age group) and Gabrielle Schmidt (15-17) won Race of Champions titles. Desa, of North Las Vegas, beat Maverick Molloy of Chino Hills, Calif., with an ET of 7.914 seconds, while Schmidt, of Golden Valley, Calif., bested Jared Jones with a 7.999 ET.


NHRA Jr. Dragsters
Division 7 Finals
The Strip at LVMS

Sunday, Sept. 11
Championship Finals

Ages 6-9
Champion: Alyssa Tatge, Tucson, Ariz. (.167 reaction/11.993 ET/54.99 mph)
Runner-up: Isabella Lily Pires, Madera Ranchos, Calif. (.172/13.924/39.98)

Champion: Cy Mitchell, Thousand Oaks, Calif. (.015 reaction/9.097 ET/67.40 mph)
Runner-up: Brooke Marquez, Winslow, Ariz. (.233/9.347/70.02)

Champion: Maverick Molloy, Chino Hills, Calif. (.028 reaction/8.011 ET/82.25 mph)
Runner-up: Cade Poe, Los Alamitos, Calif. (.038/7.889/82.82)

Champion: Brandon Savolt, Diamond Bar, Calif. (.101 reaction/7.998 ET/82.14 mph)
Runner-up: A.J. Thomas, Chowchilla, Calif. (.073/8.197/80.28)

Jr. Comp
Champion: Peyton Januik, Las Vegas (.040 reaction/6.919 ET/99.08 mph)
Runner-up: Joey Petrone, Chandler, Ariz. (-.166/6.892/100.06)

Saturday, Sept. 10
Race of Champions

Ages 6-9
Champion: Emersyn Pires, Madera, Calif. (.113 reaction/11.914 ET/55.43 mph)
Runner-up: Domonick Scofield, Winslow, Ariz. (.097/12.344/50.28)

Champion: Cy Mitchell, Thousand Oaks, Calif. (.041 reaction/8.969 ET/72.83 mph)
Runner-up: Tripp Breitkreitz, Casa Grande, Ariz. (.080/8.985/72.89)

Champion: Keoki Desa, North Las Vegas, Nev. (.036 reaction/7.914 ET/82.80 mph)
Runner-up: Maverick Molloy, Chino Hills, Calif. (-.015/8.020/81.99)

Champion: Gabrielle Schmidt, Golden Valley, Calif. (.044 reaction/7.999 ET/80.51 mph)
Runner-up: Jared Jones, West Jordan, Utah (.025/7.973/82.00)