View  the 2010 Rockabilly Rod Reunion photo gallery at:,photo_gallery/cat_id,44312?sf_id=8833


The 2010 Rockabilly Rod Reunion/NHRA Heritage Series weekend at The Las Vegas Motor Speedway now is history and Tim Boychuk is celebrating all the way back to Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, after winning the Nitro Nostalgia Funny Car final over Utah’s Steve Macklyn. Boychuck qualified fourth in a field of 25 entries to make the eight-car cutoff. Boychuk blazed the quarter mile in the first round of eliminations – 5.777 sec./247.20 mph – despite the fact that his opponent, Mark Sanders of Maple Valley, Wash. fouled on the starting line. In the second round, Boychuk put Steve Rajcic and the L.A. Hooker Plymouth Arrow on the trailer with a pass of 5.87 sec./240.38 mph.

To face Boychuk in the final, Macklyn defeated Roger Garten of Fallbrook, Calif., in the first round and Todd Losenko of Cave Creek, Ariz. in the second.

For thousands of fans, it was a great way to spend the Memorial Day Weekend. Held at both The Strip at LVMS and the Neon Garage (in the superspeedway infield), the sun-drenched weekend was packed with cool cars, live bands, rockabilly celebrities, nostalgia drag racing and contests.

Lisa Love of Orange County, Calif. won Saturday night's Miss Rockabilly Rod Reunion contest. On Sunday afternoon, Leon Lion of Utah won the ultra-smoky burnout contest.

Tim Krupa of Lincolnton, N.C. won the AA/Gas finale over Cecil Matthews of Redwood, Calif.

Casey Grisel of Orangeville, Calif. singled in the A/Fuel final.

Doug Schneider of Las Vegas defeated Scott Horsley of Las Vegas for Hot Rod honors.

Jordan Frolka (Simi Valley, Calif.) and Alex Barrett (Beaumont, Calif.) posted identical reaction times (.047) but the win went to Frolka in the Nostalgia Eliminator 1 finale.

Jay Huckleberry of Porterville, Calif., scored the Nostalgia Eliminator 2 trophy over Henderson’s Dick Krieger.

Tim Beeman of Red Bluff, Calif. topped Carson City’s Troy Moyle for Nostalgia Eliminator 3 honors.

Jimmy White of Covina, Calif. won the A/Gas final over La Mirada, Calif. native Augustine Herrera.

Casey Trear of Santa Maria, Calif. scored B/Gas honors over Doug Araiza of Santa Paula, Calif.

Bakersfield’s Josh Conrad defeated La Jolla’s Ed Carey for the D/Gas win.

The 7.0 Pro class fell to Will Martin of Glendora, Calif.

Dean Carter of Glendale, Ariz. Took Jr. Fuel honors over Bud Hammer of Oxnard, Calif.

Next event at The Strip at LVMS:
Friday, June 4 – Test ‘n’ Tune – all cars, all classes (5-9 p.m.).
Friday, June 4 – Dodge Midnight Mayhem  (9 p.m.-1 a.m.).
Saturday, June 5 – Short Line Express Jr. Dragster Series, MDRA (9 a.m.-2 p.m.).
Saturday, June 5 – Jr. Dragster Big Prize Bonus Race (4-8 p.m.).
Sunday, June 6 – Short Line Express Jr. Dragster Series, MDRA (9 a.m.-2 p.m.).

VIEW THE ROCKABILLY ROD REUNION PHOTO GALLERY AT:,photo_gallery/sf_id,8833/cat_id,44312/

For more information, please call LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit Follow LVMS on Facebook and Twitter.