Saturday, Aug. 27

Rhys Millen of Auckland, New Zealand defeated Ireland’s Darren McNamara in the final round of eliminations to claim the Formula DRIFT Round 6: After Dark title tonight at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. It was Millen’s first victory of the 2011 season.

“This is kind of a milestone for us. We debuted the Hyundai Genesis here and we failed to qualify,” said Millen. “Now, two years later, we are standing on top of the podium and it feels fantastic.”

The brakes on Kyle Mohan’s Mazdatrix Mazda RX-8 failed as he set his car up for the first clipping point while competing against Michael Essa during Top 16 eliminations. His car was clocked at 103 mph as it piled into the tire barriers but Mohan was not injured.

Two-time Formula DRIFT champion Samuel “Crazy Swede” Hubinette made his first start of the season but failed to crack the Top 16.

Although he was eliminated during Top 16 eliminations, Daijiro Yoshihara of Tokyo, Japan retained the points lead with just one event remaining. Five drivers now have a chance to win the 2011 Formula DRIFT championship as the series winds up Oct. 8 in California.

Daren Bay’s “Incinerator” Jet Car turned in the fastest of the night on the drag strip during the Back 2 School Bash thrill show, stopping the clocks at 5.49 sec./291.32 mph.

Tony Franco’s “Terminal Velocity” Jet Car won the 1/8-mile match race against Dan Runte in the world-famous Bigfoot Monster Truck.

Brian Chamberlain of Las Vegas defeated Tony Niswonger for Super Pro honors.

Ed Thornton of Chino Hills, Calif. won the PSCA Pro Street finale over San Dimas, Calif. racer Mike Maggio. Maggio was the class’ No. 1 Qualifier at 6.187 sec./244.12 mph.

Rick Snaveley of Los Angeles won the PSCA Outlaw Street final over Ron Weems of Riverside, Calif.

Todd Ishibashi of Las Vegas defeated John Irving of Boulder City to claim tonight’s Pro title.

Kahea Woods (Las Vegas) defeated Leo Shaver to win the final round of Motorcycle eliminations.

John Irving of Boulder City scored the Sportsman category win over Luke Winters of Las Vegas.

Curt Miller of Las Vegas won the final round of Las Vegas Corvette Association eliminations over Lanny Lowman.

Formula DRIFT Professional Championship 2011 Point Standings after 6 Rounds
1. Yoshihara, Daijiro  Discount Tire / Falken Tire Nissan S13  470 Points
2. Pawlak, Justin  Falken Tire Ford Mustang        451.25 Points
3. McNamara, Darren  Falken Tire Saturn Sky  435.50 Points
4. Forsberg, Chris  NOS Energy Drink / Hankook Nissan 370Z  429 Points
5. Powers, Matt Need for Speed / Nitto Nissan S14       418.50 Points
6. Tuerck, Ryan Gardella Racing / Mobil 1 Chevrolet Camaro      370 Points
7. Grunewald, Conrad  Hankook Tire Chevy Camaro       357 Points
8. Gittin, Vaughn  Monster Energy / Falken Ford Mustang    349 Points
9. McQuarrie, Tyler  Falken Tire Nissan 350Z 341.50 Points
10. Mohan, Kyle  Nexen Tire / Mazdatrix Mazda RX-8       323 Points
11. Millen, Rhys  Red Bull / Hankook Hyundai Genesis Coupe        317 Points
12. Aasbo, Fredric  Need for Speed / Hankook Scion TC       304.50 Points
13. Yoshioka, Toshiki   Retaks Nissan S13       299.75 Points
14. Bakchis, Aurimas  Bakchis Racing / Forged Racing Nissan 240SX     255 Points
15. Gushi, Ken  RS*R / Hankook / Scion Racing TC        251.75 Points
16. Petty, Ross  Garage Boso / Falken Nissan S15 208.50 Points

Round 6: After Dark Event Results
1. Millen, Rhys Red Bull / Hankook Hyundai Genesis Coupe
2. McNamara, Darren     Falken Tire Saturn Sky
3. Powers, Matt Need for Speed / Nitto Nissan S14

For more information, please call LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit Follow LVMS on Facebook and Twitter.