For the second consecutive year, New Zealander Rhys Millen won the final round of competition for the Formula DRIFT Series at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Millen, who now lives in San Juan Capistrano, Calif., faced Fredric Aasbo of Ski, Norway in the final. Aasbo’s Scion hit the wall near the Thrill Zone VIP grandstand during the first run of the final. Although Aasbo was not injured, his car was damaged and could not continue.

Vaughn Gittin Jr. of Joppa, Maryland won the consolation competition for third place over Japan’s Robbie Nishida.

Photo gallery:,photo_gallery/sf_id,16948/cat_id,44256/

On Friday, Millen qualified second to Aasbo with a score of 86.5 to the Norwegian’s chart-topping 89.5.

Millen defeated Alex Lee in the Top 32 round, downed Roland Gallagher in the Top 16 round, then won the Top 8 round when opponent Daigo Saito of Saitama, Japan crashed. Millen then defeated Nishida in the Top 4 round to advance to the final.

To face Millen in the final, Aasbo stopped Chris Forsberg in Top 32, defeated Daijiro Yoshihara in the Top 16 round, eliminated Tyler McQuarrie in the Top 8 pairing and eliminated Vaughn Gittin Jr. in the Top 4.

The Formula DRIFT Series ( will conclude its 2012 season in Irwindale, Calif. on Oct. 12-13.

For more information, please call LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit Follow LVMS on Facebook and Twitter.