LVMS NASCAR dates moving to second weekend in March for 2005

Nevada's largest annual sports weekend has a new date for 2005.  Las Vegas Motor Speedway's NASCAR Weekend is scheduled for March 11-13, 2005, a week later than in recent years.

Again in 2005, the UAW-DaimlerChrysler 400 is scheduled to be the third stop on the NASCAR Nextel Cup tour.  The 2005 event will mark the eighth visit of NASCAR's most elite series to Las Vegas's 1.5-mile superspeedway.

The Sam's Town 300 NASCAR Busch Series event will precede the NASCAR Nextel Cup event on Saturday, March 12. Qualifying for both races will be held Friday, March 11.

'We are very excited about this new date,' said Chris Powell, LVMS general manager. 'Even though we are just a few months removed from this past year's event, we already are in the process of renewing tickets for the 2005 event, and the renewals are coming in at a record pace.  NASCAR Weekend in Las Vegas has become one of the most significant events on the motorsports calendar, as evidenced by the tremendous crowds that turn out all three days.  The new date should further increase the anticipation that race fans have for this event.'

The 2004 event drew more than 300,000 people to LVMS for events that also included two nights of World of Outlaws sprint cars on the dirt track and a NASCAR Weekly Series event at the Bullring.

Dale Earnhardt Terrace tickets for 2005 are on sale now by calling the speedway at 1-800-644-4444 or online at  All remaining seats will go on sale in September. The ticket-renewal process for previous years' ticket holders is now ongoing.

Times for all events will be announced at a later date.  FOX Sports will televise the UAW-DaimlerChrysler 400 for the fifth consecutive year. Television information for the Sam's Town 300 will be announced later.

Current NASCAR Nextel Cup champion Matt Kenseth has won the past two UAW-DaimlerChrysler 400s. Other past winners include Sterling Marlin (2002), Jeff Gordon (2001), Jeff Burton (1999 and 2000) and Mark Martin (1998).

Kevin Harvick won this year's Sam's Town 300. Other Busch winners include Joe Nemechek (2003), Burton (2002 and 2000), Todd Bodine (2001), Martin (1999), Jimmy Spencer (1998) and Jeff Green (1997).

Las Vegas Motor Speedway is owned and operated by Speedway Motorsports, Inc. (NYSE:TRK), a leading marketer and promoter of motorsports entertainment in the United States. In addition to Las Vegas Motor Speedway, SMI owns and operates the following premiere facilities: Atlanta Motor Speedway, Bristol Motor Speedway, Lowe's Motor Speedway at Charlotte, Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Calif., and Texas Motor Speedway. SMI also provides event souvenir merchandising services through its SMI Properties subsidiary, and manufactures and distributes smaller-scale, modified racing cars through its 600 Racing subsidiary.