Revised results: Aug. 16, 10:35 p.m.

"It was a dark and stormy night."  Literally. The Bullring played "beat the weatherman" -- and won -- Saturday as lightning flashed frequently during the Cowboy Night feature races.  The southbound weather front skirted the speedway but the ensuing electrical storm created an eerie sense of urgency on race night. Soon after the final checkered flag was thrown, the wind howled through the grandstands.

The caution-plagued 40-lap Super Late Model/Late Model feature was won by Matt Jaskol.  Early-race leader Joe Deguevera surrendered the top spot to Scott Gafforini on lap 8.  Gafforini, the current points leader, borrowed the car of Dennis Rock to compete tonight and found himself hunted by Matt Jaskol, Bear Rzesnowiecky and Jeff Connors. Gafforini slipped at the halfway point and watched freight train passed him. Jaskol was the new leader, followed by Connors. Joe Farre of Sacramento spun in front of the race leaders in Turn 4 on lap 24 but everyone was able to avoid him. Dennis Rock Jr., driving the borrowed car of John Spilotro, spun in Turn 2 on lap 25 to bring the caution flag out once again.  The lead pair pulled away from the field with five laps remaining and Connors tried every trick in the book to pass Jaskol for the lead as they negotiated lapped traffic. The cars made contact in Turn 4 with the checkered flag in sight but Jaskol -- the night's No. 1 Qualifier -- held on to earn the victory. Branden Giannini finished seventh and was the highest-finishing Late Model.  Deguevera and Chris Birdsong later were disqualified after their cars failed to pass post-race technical inspection.

The 20-lap Thunder Roadster feature was nothing short of exciting with plenty of lead changes and three-wide racing.  Justin Johnson took the lead for good on lap 11 and went on to score his 11th Saturday-night feature of the 2008 season. Josh Gross came home second and Jared Carpenter crossed the finish line in third place.

Not to be outdone, the Bombers staged a chaotic extravaganza that kept the crowd on its feet. Larry "The Torch" Dittman opted to start dead-last but still won the Bomber finale.  Following Dittman across the stripe were Billy Bob Grasser and Bryan Gerald.

The 25-lap Charger feature was won by Phil Goodwin, his eighth of the season.  Mario Opipari was second and Matt Cunningham finished third.

Brecken Snow of St. George, Utah, beat John Davis to the finish line by less than a car length to claim the 20-lap Legends Cars feature. Tyler Fabozzi finished third. Australian Bronson Butcher finished 13th following a late-race solo spin.

The 12-lap Bandolero Bandits feature was won by Jacob Tilton. Ashlee Ambriz won the 12-lap Bandolero Young Guns feature.

Preliminaries:  Qualifying heat races were won by Christian Warren (Bandolero Bandits), Ashlee Ambriz (Bandolero Young Guns), Phil Goodwin (Chargers), Justin Johnson (Thunder Roadsters), Larry "The Torch" Dittman (Bombers) and Billy Bob Grasser (Bombers).  The $200 Budweiser Super Late Model/Late Model Combo Dash was won by Matt Jaskol. The Budweiser Legends Cars Dash was won by Dylan Kwasniewski.

The evening included charity mechanical bull rides courtesy of Stoney's Rockin' Country. All proceeds were donated to the Las Vegas Chapter of Speedway Children's Charities. Young race fans also enjoyed pony rides, a petting zoo and jump houses.

NEXT RACE:  The Bullring will present the Labor Day Weekend Showdown and Nerd Night '08 on Saturday, Aug. 30. Racing action includes the Super Late Model/Late Model Combo class (twin 33-lap features), Legends Cars, Modifieds, Chargers, Thunder Roadsters, Bombers and a demolition derby.  Come dressed as a nerd and receive a $5 discount on adult admission.  Also: best-appearing nerd contest and nerd-themed games. The Bullring's concession stand features a family-friendly dollar menu, including $1 hot dogs, $1 soda and $1 beer. For more information, please call the Bullring's office at (702) 632-8213 or visit

All results are unofficial until Monday morning.

40-lap Super Late Model/Late Model feature: 1. Matt Jaskol, 2. Jeff Connors, 3. Bear Rzesnowiecky, 4. Scott Gafforini, 5. Robert Ewing, 6. Joe Farre, 7. Branden Giannini, 8. Dennis Rock Jr., 9. Bob Barker, 10. Jim Petrie, 11. Josh Gross, 12. Greg Hanneman, 13. Stan Mullis, 14. Bryan Wulfenstein, 15. Jeff Bargerhuff, 16. Chris Bray, 17. Skylar Mortenson, 18. Joe Deguevera (disqualified), 19. Chris Birdsong (disqualified).

20-lap Charger feature: 1. Phil Goodwin, 2. Mario Opipari, 3. Matt Cunningham, 4. Matt Johnson, 5. Vinny Raucci, 6. Chuck Burgess, 7. Chad Mattos, 8. Becky Torbergson, 9. Jerry Gentry.

20-lap Bomber feature: 1. Larry "The Torch" Dittman, 2. Billy Bob Grasser, 3. Bryan Gerald, 4. Wade Pearson, 5. Dan Nelson, 6. Harold Sherard, 7. "Hoodless J.J." Nunn, 8. Jennifer Cunningham, 9. Ben Sherard, 10. Gary Wyatt, 11. Roland Pelletier, 12. Jesse Day, 13. Fred Harding.

20-lap Legends Cars feature: 1. Brecken Snow, 2. John Davis, 3. Tyler Fabozzi, 4. Brandon Snow, 5. Jay Beasley, 6. Dylan Kwasniewski, 7. Robert D'Ambra, 8. Nick Halen, 9. Cheyanne Schindler, 10. Frank McCourt, 11. Beau Hutchinson, 12. Robert Scott, 13. Bronson Butcher, 14. Mark Young, 15. Jack Madrid, 16. Zak Price, 17. Cole Cabrera, 18. Justin Hurdle, 19. Jacob Bishop, 20. Brianna Holley, 21. Karl Forman.

20-lap Thunder Roadster feature: 1. Justin Johnson, 2. Josh Gross, 3. Jared Carpenter, 4. Damon Blakemon, 5. Roger Hocking, 6. Fred Chase, 7. Bob Dresser, 8. Tony Gugliuzza, 9. Ron McIntyre.

12-lap Bandolero Bandits feature: 1. Jacob Tilton, 2. Giles Thornton, 3. Jonathan Eakin, 4. Christian Warren, 5. Michael Morris, 6. Nicholas Thigpen, 7. Trent Kassik, 8. Ian Anderson, 9. Vincent Raucci Jr., 10. Christian Glass, 11. Kayli Barker.

12-lap Bandolero Young Guns feature: 1.  Ashlee Ambriz, 2. Amanda Gubler, 3. Jacksen Smith, 4. Hayley Lager, 5. Jairo Avila Jr., 6. Brooke O'Hanley, 7. Mariah Talbert, 8. Patrick O'Hanley, 9. Johnny Spilotro, 10. Gabriela Glass, 11. Rachel Brown, 12. Kolleen Dresser.