David Anderson grabbed the lead from pole-sitter Dennis Rock Jr. nine laps into Saturday night's 40-lap Super Late Model feature and held off furious challenges by Romain Thievin and Scott Gafforini to win the NASCAR Whelen Championship Series season opener at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

            Anderson, who qualified fourth for the feature event, was running second to Rock at the conclusion of the first lap and methodically reeled in Rock and took the lead nine laps into the feature. Anderson pulled away from the field in the early going but by the mid-point of the race, was running bumper-to-bumper with Thievin, Gafforini and Rock. Thievin finished second, Gafforini was third and Rock took fourth, with Anderson claiming a two-car-length margin of victory.

            "It's been a while since we've been able to get these cars in victory circle," Anderson said. "We've been working really hard over the winter and my dad (Steve, who finished seventh) more than I can even say to get these cars up into running order. We're just going to take them one at a time and see how many more wins we can pull off.

            "It's a great way to start the season. The last time I started the season with a win, I won a championship so I hope (this is a sign) and I hope (my dad) is the guy I have to beat, as well."

            Phil Goodwin of Henderson won the NASCAR Super Stock feature after taking the lead from Matt Cunningham eight laps into the 25-lap race. Cunningham finished second and Vinny Raucci Jr. was third. Raucci and James Wingard won the Super Stock heat races.

            Aaron McMorran took the lead on the second lap of the 25-lap NASCAR Bomber feature and cruised to a comfortable win, finishing ahead of Don Sargent and defending class champion Pete Meyer. The Bomber heat races were won by Michael Greve, Meyer and Adam Simon.

            Jason Irwin nudged race leader Zane Smith in the final turn of the final lap to pass Smith and take the checkered flag in the 25-lap Legend Car feature. Smith took second and was followed to the finish line by Noah Gragson, Chris Trickle and Tony Mangini.

            Mason Sargent survived being spun out on the sixth lap and roared back to win the 12-lap Bandolero Bandits feature, finishing ahead of Gino Marretti and RJ Smotherman.

            Kyle Jacks led wire-to-wire in the 12-lap Bandolero Outlaws feature, but still had to hold off a hard-charging Philip Root. Caden Carlin took third.

            Ian Anderson, who won all 12 Thunder Car features en route to the track championship in 2013, continued his winning ways by capturing the 20-lap Thunder Car main event after passing race leader Ron Reed on the seventh lap. Reed took second and Joshua Quartaro was third.

            NEXT RACE - Saturday, April 5 - NASCAR Whelen Championship Series, NASCAR Grand American Modifieds, USAC Midget Series, NASCAR Bombers, USLCI Legend Cars, IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/LasVegas Tool.com Bandoleros, USLCI Thunder Cars. Spectator gates will open at 5 p.m. The Bullring's concession stand features $1 hot dogs, $1 Coca-Cola products and $2 Budweiser beer on each NASCAR Whelen Championship Series race night.

For more information, please call LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit www.LVMS.com. Follow LVMS on Facebook and Twitter.

Saturday night's NASCAR Whelen Championship Series feature-event results from The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

40-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature: 1. David Anderson, 2. Romain Thievin, 3. Scott Gafforini, 4. Dennis Rock Jr., 5. Warren Knipper, 6, Kayli Barker, 7. Steve Anderson, 8. David Perisset, 9. Andre Prescott, 10. Bob Barker, 11. Branden Underwood, 12. John Thomson, 13. Stan Mullis.

25-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature: 1. Phil Goodwin, 2. Matt Cunningham, 3. Vinny Raucci Jr., 4. Jason Kiser, 5. Johnny Spilotro, 6. Chris Johnson, 7. Matt Larsen, 8. James Wingard.

25-lap NASCAR Bomber feature: 1. Aaron McMorran, 2. Don Sargent, 3. Pete Meyer, 4. Nathan Boss, 5. Kirk Hance, 6. Marty Deluca, 7. Bobby Schumacher, 8. Martin Sullins, 9. Michael Greve, 10. Rich Ham, 11. William Hern, 12. John Madden, 13. Jim Merlino, 14. Jason Sullins, 15. Justin Griffiths, 16. Wade Pearson, 17. Jeff Bargerhuff, 18. Anthony Riegert, 19. Scott Bradbury, 20. Cayla Bronston, 21. Andrew Louis, 22. Ben Sherard, 23. Adam Simon, 24. Steve Durbin, 25. Jason Merlino.

25-lap Legend Car Pro/Masters feature: 1. Jason Irwin, 2. Zane Smith, 3. Noah Gragson, 4. Chris Trickle, 5. Tony Mangini, 6. Peyton Saxton, 7. Bryan Grandin, 8. Jordan Dean, 9. Tim Mangini, 10. Cameron Morga, 11. Michael Womack, 12. Michael Todd Glazer, 13. Nick Thigpen, 14. TJ Clark, 15. Devin Lane, 16. Zach Blume, 17. Caity Miller, 18. Joe Culwell, 19. Brian Lane, 20. Riley Herbst, 21.Gina Tillman.

12-lap IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/LasVegasTool.com Bandolero  Bandits feature: 1. Mason Sargent, 2. Gino Marretti, 3. RJ Smotherman, 4. Dezel West, 5. Kyle Keller, 6. Gianna Marretti, 7. Ethan DeGuevara, 8. Tye O'Hanley, 9. Austin Snyder, 10. Brody Warren.

12-lap IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/LasVegasTool.com Bandolero Outlaws feature: 1. Kyle Jacks, 2. Philip Root, 3. Caden Carlin, 4. Jacob Quartaro, 5. Dylin Smotherman, 6. Joey Paonessa, 7. Brian Taylor.

20-lap Thunder Car feature: 1. Ian Anderson, 2. Ron Reed, 3. Joshua Quartaro, 4. Chris Bosley, 5. Doug Germano, 6. Darin Callaway, 7. Travis Boyle.