Mark Meier of Las Vegas won the Pro division finale at the annual Super Chevy Show at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway Sunday evening. The win was Meier's second Super Chevy Show victory of the 2002 season. John Irving of Boulder City earned No. 1 Qualifier status and finished runner-up in DOT Street competition and Ty Sanders of Las Vegas did likewise in the Jr. Dragster class. Henderson's Brandon Potts defeated "Papa Joe" Furiani in the Bonus Race finale on Saturday night.

Hundreds of Chevrolets and thousands of GM fans converged on The Strip while enjoying unseasonably warm weather. The drag race portion of the show was open to Chevrolets and Chevrolet-powered vehicles.

"Dangerous Dan" Nickelson of LaVerne, Calif., defeated Jim Nordhougen of Longmont, Colo., for Nitro Coupe honors. Nickelson also earned No. 1 Qualifier status in his class.

Shannon Robin, of Alta Loma, Calif., bade farewell to the Jr. Dragster division by winning the final round over Ty Sanders. Robin, who turned 18 over the 2002 season, will graduate to the E.T. Bracket Racing Series for 2003.

The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway will present the inaugural Wild, Wild West Thanksgiving Shootout for E.T. Bracket Racing Series competitors Nov. 29-Dec. 1.


Winner: Dan Nickelson (LaVerne, Calif.) '94 Beretta 6.379 sec./234.70 mph.

Runner-up: Jim Nordhougen (Longmont, Colo.) '41 Chevrolet 6.420 sec./220.15 mph


Winner: Mark Meier (Las Vegas) '72 Vega 12.256 sec./107.50 mph.

Runner-up: Robert Juarez (San Pedro, Calif.) '68 Chevelle 11.192 sec./113.94 mph.


Winner: Ryan Tietz (Ontario, Calif.) Dragster 8.390 sec./151.43 mph

Runner-up: Sam Boyd (Cucamonga, Calif.) Altered 8.119 sec./162.33 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Chris Naffziger (Las Vegas) '70 Nova


Winner: Jimmy Mock (Yorba Linda, Calif.) '65 Chevelle 12.202 sec./110.86 mph.

Runner-up: John Irving (Boulder City) Camaro 13.399 sec./100.90 mph


Winner: Brandon Potts (Henderson) '72 Chevelle  10.714 sec./123.76 mph.

Runner-up: "Papa Joe" Furiani  10.212 sec./129.23 sec.


Winner: Shannon Robin (Alta Loma, Calif.) 8.272 sec./75.03 mph (1/8 mile).

Runner-up: Ty Sanders (Las Vegas) 8.614 sec./71.28 mph