Farnum, Harris, Irving, Eck, Dudley beat the heat at The Strip


The summer heat wave has hit Las Vegas but it didn't stop the area's top bracket racers ¿ and some new faces -- from converging on The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway for Saturday night's Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series event.


When the action concluded early Sunday morning, Bob Farnum, John Irving, Robin Harris, Danny Eck and Bill Dudley had collected trophies for final-round victories in their respective classes.


Farnum defeated defending champion John Phlegar in the Super Pro class, Harris topped Scott Machael for Pro honors and Irving beat Ron Winters to claim the Street title.  Bill Dudley added yet another trophy to his burgeoning collection by outrunning Marissa Liongson in the Sport Compact class and newcomer Danny Eck, of Ashton, Ida., defeated Henderson's Jason Whitenack for the Motorcycle title.


Jerry's Nugget Reaction Time Bonus Awards were won by Kathy Hunter (Pro), Jason Whitenack (Motorcycle), Long Beach's Jenny Welch (Super Pro), Lynn Farnum (Street) and Sandra Darby (Sport Compact).  The bonus is awarded to the driver/rider who posts the best reaction time on a winning run during the first round of eliminations.


Run-for-the-Money winners included: Kevin Baker (Pro), Denise Sasser (Super Pro) and Bill Dudley (Street/Sport Compact).


The Mayan Inn provided a gift certificate to the winner of the Sport Compact finale.


The Strip at LVMS will present a full weekend of drag-racing action July 18-19 prior to the rescheduled GM Performance NHRA Sport Compact Nationals July 25-26.  Friday, July 18, begins with a Test 'n' Tune session followed by Titan Auto Insurance Midnight Mayhem.  On Saturday, The Strip presents the Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series, featuring $20-Per-Carload Night, the Las Vegas F-Body Car Club and DJs and midway attractions.


Saturday's results: driver/rider, hometown, race car/bike, reaction time, elapsed time/top speed.



Winner: Bob Farnum (Las Vegas) '92 Meyer dragster  .504  8.061 sec./158.63 mph.

Runner-up: John Phlegar (Las Vegas) '72 Chevelle  .513  10.145 sec./128.79 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Bob Farnum (Las Vegas).



Winner: Robin Harris (Las Vegas) '66 Nova  .550  11.362 sec./117.87 mph.

Runner-up: Scott Machael (Las Vegas) '63 Dodge Polara  .571  12.916 sec./101.94 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Richard Alderete (Las Vegas).



Winner: John Irving (Boulder City) Camaro  13.708 sec./96.03 mph.

Runner-up: Ron Winters (Las Vegas) '68 El Camino  17.047 sec./79.13 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Ron Winters (Las Vegas).



Winner: Danny Eck (Ashton, Idaho) '99 Katana  .415  10.205 sec./125.45 mph.

Runner-up: Jason Whitenack (Henderson) '96 Kawasaki  .503  10.046 sec./126.27 mph.



Winner: Bill Dudley (Las Vegas) '00 Mazda  .652  20.062 sec./63.75 mph.

Runner-up: Marissa Liongson (Las Vegas) '91 Honda  1.346  14.606 sec./95.70 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Marissa Liongson (Las Vegas).