Rapp, Evans, Martin, Whitenack, Kimball claim Jerry's Nugget

Championship Drag Racing Series victories at The Strip Saturday



            Jeremy Rapp (Super Pro), Dennis Evans (Pro), Jaime Martin (Street), Jason Whitenack (Motorcycle) and Aaron Kimball (Sport Compact) earned final-round victories during Saturday's Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series event at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

            Richard Winters of North Las Vegas defeated Russell George of Yuma, Ariz., in the final round of Las Vegas F-Body Club eliminations.  Chase Johnson of Las Vegas won the F-Body (Camaros and Firebirds) car show Best of Show award; Scott Gafforini of Las Vegas claimed Best of Show Runner-up.

            Jerry's Nugget Reaction Time Bonus Awards were won by Jeremy Rapp (Super Pro), Michael Edmonds (Pro), Dave Phillips (Motorcycle), Nick Ariotti (Street) and Michael Dudley (Sport Compact).  The Jerry's Nugget Reaction Time Bonus is awarded to the driver/rider who posts the best reaction time on a winning run during the first round of eliminations.

Saturday's Run-for-the-Money winners included Tammy Horstdaniel, Jeremy Rapp and Bob Coulter.

            Friday's Titan Auto Insurance Midnight Mayhem was postponed due to severe thunderstorms in the area.  The storm arrived at The Strip just as Midnight Mayhem had begun.  Racers and spectators may use their rain checks for either July 25 or Aug. 8.

            Becky Landram of Las Vegas won Friday's Bracket Gambler competition during the evening Test 'n' Tune session.

            The inaugural GM Performance NHRA Sport Compact Nationals comes to The Strip July 25-26.  The event originally was scheduled for March 15-16 but was rained out.

            The Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series returns on Saturday, Aug. 16, for the eighth points race of the 2003 season.


Saturday's results: Driver/rider, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time (E.T.) and top speed.


Winner: Jeremy Rapp (Las Vegas) '97 Mullins dragster  .515  8.403 sec./161.02 mph

Runner-up: Chris Naffziger (Las Vegas) '70 Nova  .532  9.850 sec./134.86 mph

No. 1 Qualifier: Don Kruse (Las Vegas) '95 Beretta  8.882 sec.



Winner: Dennis Evans (Las Vegas) '72 Challenger  .568  10.763 sec./123.52 mph

Runner-up: Scott Machael (Las Vegas) '63 Dodge Polara  .511  12.892 sec./101.78 mph

No. 1 Qualifier: Bob Moudree (Las Vegas) '70 Nova  10.200 sec.



Winner: Jaime Martin (Las Vegas) '70 Firebird  .579  14.166 sec./93.41 mph

Runner-up: Nick Ariotti (Boulder City) '72 Duster  .467  12.600 sec./107.19 mph



Winner: Jason Whitenack (Henderson) '96 Kawasaki  .445  10.153 sec./125.16 mph

Runner-up: Dave Phillips (Las Vegas) '77 Kawasaki  .386  9.369 sec./132.71 mph



Winner: Aaron Kimball (Las Vegas) '92 Maxima  .660  16.758 sec./71.29 mph

Runner-up: Juddi Lin (Las Vegas) '93 Integra  .746  17.338 sec./81.28 mph



Winner: Richard Winters (N. Las Vegas) '98 Trans Am  .579  13.530 sec./90.00 mph

Runner-up: Russell George (Yuma, Ariz.) '97 Z-28  .860  16.092 sec./85.68 mph