Naffziger claims Jerry¿s Nugget Super Pro season opener at The Strip;

Lamb, Valandingham score Short Line Express Jr. Dragster victories


The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway opened the 2004 Jerry¿s Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series Saturday night and 2003 Super Pro champion Chris Naffziger picked up he left off by winning the final round against Boulder City¿s Mark Piel.

Naffziger drove a 1970 Chevrolet Nova and won with a reaction time of .514 sec. Coincidentally, so did Pro division winner Bob Moudree.

Final-round wins also went to: Scott Parsons (Street), Greg Liskey (Motorcycle) and A.J. Del Rosario (Sport Compact).

Jerry¿s Nugget Reaction Time Bonus Awards were won by Kevin Baker (Pro), Buddy Baxter (Super Pro), Errol Farmer (Street), A.J. Del Rosario (Sport Compact) and Greg Liskey (Motorcycle). The award is won by posting the best reaction time on a winning run in the first round of eliminations.

On Saturday morning, The Strip opened its 2004 Short Line Express Markets NHRA Jr. Dragster Series. Ryen Lamb of Henderson won the Thunder division, and Ryan Valandingham of Kingman, Ariz., aced the Lightning class.

The next event on The Strip¿s schedule is the Goodguys Nitro Nationals, April 30-May 1.

2004 Jerry¿s Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series ¿ Race No. 1

Driver/rider, hometown, car/bike, reaction time, elapsed time, top speed:


Winner: Chris Naffziger (Las Vegas) 1970 Nova .514 9.850 sec./136.73 mph.

Runner-up: Mark Piel (Boulder City) 1971 Challenger .526 11.908 sec./119.97 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Bob Farnum (Las Vegas) ¿92 Meyer dragster.


Winner: Bob Moudree (Las Vegas) 1970 Nova .514 10.157 sec./130.39 mph.

Runner-up and No. 1 Qualifier: Robin Harris (Las Vegas) 1966 Nova .525 10.624 sec./127.70 mph.


Winner: Scott Parsons (Monroe, Utah) 1967 Cutlass .562 12.290 sec./104.82 mph.

Runner-up: Richard Ariotti (Boulder City) 1972 Duster .648 12.688 sec./106.44 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Jaime Martin (Las Vegas) 1970 Firebird.


Winner: Greg Liskey (Salinas, Calif.) 1995 Suzuki .424 8.903 sec./150.10 mph.

Runner-up: Kahea Woods (Las Vegas) 1995 Suzuki .566 8.751sec./151.54 mph.


Winner: A.J. Del Rosario (Las Vegas) 1994 Acura Integra .527 16.190 sec./89.16 mph.

Runner-up: Aaron Kimball (Las Vegas) 1992 Nissan Maxima .559 15.865 sec./76.33 mph.

2004 Short Line Express Markets NHRA Jr. Dragster Series ¿ Race No. 1

THUNDER (1/8-mile)

Winner: Ryen Lamb (Henderson) .586 12.967 sec./50.37 mph.

Runner-up: Marchella Jackson (Las Vegas) .673 14.920 sec./40.88 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Tory Bryant (Hesperia, Calif.).

LIGHTNING (1/8-mile)

Winner: Ryan Valandingham (Kingman, Ariz.) .644 8.094 sec./82.11 mph.

Runner-up: Kendra Verlingo (Alta Loma, Calif.) .609 7.872 sec./81.98 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Andrew Tobin (Mt. Charleston).