Vegas deja vu: Force fastest again during third day of testing

at The Strip at LVMS



            John Force is on a roll again in Las Vegas.  The 13-time NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series Funny Car champion from yorba Linda, Calif., was the fastest during the NHRA Nitro Blast-off Preseason Test Session Saturday at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, then wowed the young NHRA Jr. Dragster drivers at The Strip's annual awards banquet that evening.  Force and his blazing red "test vehicle" Ford flopper repeated the feat on Sunday - the third of four days of pro testing - to record the second-fastest-ever Funny Car pass:  4.673 sec. at 327.51 mph.

            Doug Kalitta piloted the quickest Top Fuel Dragster and Bob Panella did likewise in the Pro Stock category.

            Testing for the NHRA teams concludes Monday. Gates open to the public at 9 a.m., with testing scheduled to conclude at 5 p.m. Adult spectator admission (includes pit pass) is $22.  For more information, please call The Strip at LVMS at (702) 632-8213 or visit

Sunday test results compiled by Rick Green,


Doug Kalitta -- 4.553 sec./319.98 mph.

Larry Dixon -- 4.593 sec./273.44 mph.

Brandon Bernstein -- 4.626 sec./317.27 mph.

J.R. Todd -- 4.631 sec./277.94 mph.

Hillary Will -- 4.634 sec./255.58 mph.

David Grubnic -- 4.802 sec./217.07 mph.

David Baca -- 4.941 sec./217.60 mph.

Clay Millican -- 4.945 sec./200.71 mph.

Mike Strasburg -- 5.709 sec./163.79 mph.

Arley Langlo -- 7.681 sec./109.17 mph.

Morgan Lucas -- 8.486 sec./101.96 mph.

Doug Foley -- 13.540 sec./60.00 mph.



John Force -- 4.673 sec./327.51 mph.

Gary Scelzi -- 4.701 sec./325.77 mph.

Ron Capps -- 4.724 sec./317.12 mph.

Robert Hight -- 4.747 sec./283.97 mph.

Eric Medlen -- 4.868 sec./266.21 mph.

Whit Bazemore -- 4.933 sec./263.26 mph.

Tommy Johnson Jr. -- 5.167 sec./208.52 mph.

Gary Densham -- 5.168 sec./212.16 mph.

Tony Bartone -- 5.199 sec./209.72 mph.

Allan Middendorf -- 5.288 sec./260.51 mph.

Del Worsham -- 5.392 sec./193.77 mph.

Mike Ashley -- 5.501 sec./186.00 mph.

Adam Sorokin -- 5.562 sec./277.26 mph.

Phil Burkart -- 10.596 sec./84.46 mph.

Scott Kalitta -- 13.162 sec./67.78 mph.



Bob Panella -- 6.805 sec./202.52 mph.

Jim Cunningham -- 7.071 sec./193.43 mph.

Ben Watson -- 8.065 sec./118.78 mph.