The first round of the 2007 Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series was contested Saturday at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. John Dowd of Las Vegas won the Super Pro finale, defeating Justin Lamb of Henderson.  Russ Styker of Truxton, Ariz. defeated Steve Bushy for the Pro title, Bob Shirley won the Sportsman final and Kahea Woods won the Motorcycle trophy.

Final-round results, indicating: driver/rider, hometown, vehicke, reaction time, elapsed time, top speed.


Winner: John Dowd (Las Vegas) 1997 Firebird  .023  8.365 sec./159.93 mph.

Runner-up: Justin Lamb (Henderson) 2006 Racetech dragster  .031  7.746 sec./174.80 mph.



Winner: Russ Styker (Truxton, Ariz.) 1967 Pontiac  .131  18.435 sec./56.30 mph.

Runner-up: Steve Bushy (Las Vegas) 1979 Firebird  -.033 (foul)  10.956 sec./116.27 mph.


Winner: Bob Shirley (Las Vegas) 1995 Impala  .035  13.224 sec./97.74 mph.

Runner-up: Amber Doughty (Las Vegas) 1999 Ford  .106  16.980 sec./98.69 mph.


Winner: Kahea Woods (Las Vegas) 1992 Suzuki  .000  8.706 sec./150.68 mph.

Runner-up: Dave Phillips (Las Vegas) 1977 Kawasaki  .028  9.518 sec/136.41


Webber, Wakenhut, Claburn, Evans, Markham victorious in Short Line Express Markets

 NHRA Jr. Dragster Series at The Strip at LVMS

Two days, six races, five winners - that's the story of last weekend's Short Line Express Markets Series competition for NHRA Jr. Dragsters at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Cody Webber of Kingman, Ariz., won both Saturday and Sunday in the Jr. Novice division.

Single winners included: Brooke Wakenhut (Saturday Thunder),  Katie Claburn (Saturday Lightning), Jacob Evans (Sunday Thunder) and Adrienne Markham (Sunday Lightning).

The next event at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway is Wednesday Night Street Wars on Wednesday, March 28, from 7 p.m.-Midnight.

For more information, please contact LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit