After enjoying a comfortable lead early in the day, Team Las Vegas was on edge as the sun set on The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway during the NHRA Pacific Division Summit Racing Series Finals.  As the semi-final rounds of competition drew near, several Team Las Vegas racers were eliminated and the championship rested solely on the shoulders of John "Darth" Phlegar of Las Vegas.  Phlegar would have to win his pairing in the semi-final of Super Pro eliminations for Team Las Vegas to clinch the title.  Phlegar's eyeball-searing orange Corvette roadster was up to the task and Team Las Vegas won the overall championship by three points.  Second to Team Las Vegas' 82 points was Famoso (79), followed by Southwestern (78) and California Speedway (78).

Team Las Vegas also topped 15 other track teams to win the Team Spirit Award.

Steve White of Ventura, Calif., defeated Phlegar in the final round to claim the Super Pro title.  Jeff LaSalle of Santa Rosa, Calif., defeated Dwayne Eastridge to claim Pro honors.  Utah's Bud Price won the Sportsman title over Scott Smith and Charles Rand of Bakersfield won the Motorcycle finale.

The Race of Champions (a race-within-a-race where the top points-earning drivers from participating tracks square off for a chance to run for a national title against the winners from NHRA's other six divisions) was won by Tommy Debartoto (Super Pro), John Gray (Pro), Greg Dreher (Sportsman) and Mike Gragun (Motorcycle).  Winners of the Race of Champions in the Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman and Motorcycle classes will compete at the NHRA Finals in Pomona, Calif., for a national championship. They will run for a winner-take-all payday of $5,000. Each racer will also receive $3,500 for competing at the NHRA Finals.

Results, indicating driver/rider, hometown, vehicle, dial-in, elapsed time (ET) and top speed:

Winner: Steve White (Ventura, Calif.) 2000 dragster  .013  8.550 sec./150.88 mph.
Runner-up: John Phlegar (Las Vegas) 1963 Corvette roadster  .029  9.317 sec./141.85 mph.

Winner: Jeff LaSalle (Santa Rosa, Calif.) 1967 Dodge  .024  10.691 sec./122.12 mph.
Runner-up: Dwayne Eastridge (N. Hollywood) 1973 Mustang  .017  10.880 sec./121.44 mph.

Winner: Bud Price (West Bountiful, Utah) 1971 Ford  .076  12.126 sec./108.27 mph.
Runner-up: Scott Smith (Utah) 1967 Chevelle  .153  12.024 sec./111.85 mph.

Winner: Charles Rand (Bakersfield, Calif.) 1995 Suzuki  .006  9.445 sec./137.22 mph.
Runner-up: Mike Cragun (Sandy, Utah) 1979 Kawasaki  .045  10.251 sec./125.44 mph.

1. Las Vegas 82
2. Famoso 79
3. Southwestern 78
4. California Speedway 75
5. Sacramento 71
6. Infineon 61
7. Rocky Mountain 55
8. Speedworld 54
9. LACR 47
10. Top Gun 35
11. Barona 34
12. Firebird 20
13. Irwindale 15
14. Albuquerque 6
15. Redding 4
16. Samoa 1