Kahea Woods of Las Vegas won the inaugural Jason Whitenack Memorial Shootout for motorcycles at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway tonight.  The event was held in memory of 2003 LVMS Motorcycle champion Jason Whitenack, who lost his life in a highway accident last October.

In other Jerry's Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series action, Jon Irving (Sportsman) and Bill Muller (Pro) won their final rounds on a windy spring evening.  The Super Pro class opted to postpone racing due to the wind.  High winds have been a problem at the track this week as Wednesday's street-legal program was cancelled due to persistent gusts.

Ian Perri won the High School finale over Tristan Craig and Curt Miller won the Las Vegas Corvettes Association class.

Jerry's Nugget Reaction Time Bonus Awards were won by Steve Bushey (Pro), John Evons (Motorcycle) and Richard Harris (Sportsman).  The award is earned by posting the best reaction time on a winning run during the first round of eliminations.

Next event on The Strip at LVMS' schedule is the April 25-27 Pacific Street Car Association (PSCA) K&N Filters Las Vegas Nationals. For more information, please visit www.pscaracing.com or www.LVMS.com.

Results, indicating driver/rider, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time (ET), top speed:

Winner: Kahea Woods (Las Vegas) 1987 Kawasaki  .062  8.773 sec./139.62 mph.
Runner-up: John Deck (Henderson) 2000 Suzuki  .224  9.164 sec./137.32 mph.

Winner: Bill Muller (N. Las Vegas) 1966 Nova  .027  12.061 sec./110.87 mph.
Runner-up: Michael Laskowitz (Henderson) 1970 Camaro  -.036 (foul)  10.744 sec./122.93 mph.

Winner: Jon Irving (Boulder City) 2007 Camaro  .146  13.292 sec./100.29 mph.
Runner-up: Bryan Johnston (Pahrump) 1984 Camaro  .167  12.588 sec./101.58 mph.

Winner: Ian Perri (Las Vegas) 1969 Firebird  .115  13.113 sec./104.34 mph.
Runner-up: Tristan Craig (Las Vegas) 2001 Toyota  .142  18.892 sec./73.71 mph.

Winner: Curt Miller  .028  12.937 sec./111.23 mph.
Runner-up: Jim Gregorio  .088  12.798 sec./113.53 mph.