Newman-Haas duo leads Champ Car test at LVMS

Bruno Junqueira and Sebastian Bourdais have dominated the Champ Car World Series circuit this year. If Wednesday night¿s test session at Las Vegas Motor Speedway is any indication, the Newman-Haas teammates will be the teams to beat when the series makes its first stop ever at LVMS on Sept. 25.

Junqueira, who is second to Bourdais in the season standings, turned the fastest lap of the eight-hour test session with a lap of 203.482 miles per hour. Bourdais was the only other car over the 203 mark with a fast lap of 203.114. In all, 10 of the 15 drivers testing eclipsed the 200 mile per hour barrier in preparation for the second half of the Double Down in the Desert, which will begin with the Las Vegas 350 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race.

"I ran flat out all the way around all night, and the car felt really good." Junqueira said. "This is going to be an incredible race. There is no way that anyone is going to break away. It¿s going to be like Daytona or Talladega, except there won¿t be 40 cars and we can¿t bump."

Bourdais has won five races this season and won Champ Car¿s last superspeedway race, which was in Germany last season.

"I really didn¿t have any reference around here, so this was a very good test for us," Bourdais said. "This is the biggest banking (12 degrees) that I¿ve ever run on and that was pretty dramatic for me. But there¿s a lot of grip and you¿re going to see a lot of three-wide racing. It¿s going to be pretty exciting."

There were no accidents during the test session. Las Vegan Jimmy Vasser¿s car blew an engine with eight minutes remaining in the session.

Here is a breakdown of all drivers who tested and their fastest speeds:

Bruno Junqueira, 203.482 mph.

Sebastian Bourdais, 203.114 mph.

Patrick Carpentier, 202.977 mph.

Ryan Hunter-Reay, 202.817 mph.

Paul Tracy, 202.073 mph.

Guy Smith, 202.058 mph.

Mario Dominguez, 201.635 mph.

Rofolfo Lavin, 201.372 mph.

Jimmy Vasser, 201.072 mph.

Alex Tagliani, 200.067 mph.

Mario Haberfeld, 199.808 mph.

Michel Jourdain Jr., 199.144 mph.

Roberto Gonzalez, 198.968 mph.

Justin Wilson, 197.954 mph.

Nelson Phillippe, 196.872 mph.