Scott Gafforini proved that some things do indeed get better with age as he piloted his 17-year-old race car to victory in both 35-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature events during NASCAR Whelen All-American Series action Saturday night at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Gafforini, 47, led all but the first lap in the first feature and then methodically tracked down race leader Kayli Barker in the second feature, taking the lead on lap 20 and posting a 2-second margin of victory over Barker.

"This old car still works," Gafforini, a four-time track champion, said. "This car is 17 years old and this is the 53rd win for it. We've got a new car for this year that we'll debut later so we're actually going to retire this thing."

Barker, a 16-year-old high school student from Las Vegas, led the opening lap of the first feature, was caught by Gafforini on the second lap and eventually finished sixth. David Anderson was second, Steve Anderson took third, Dennis Rock Jr. was fourth and Andre Prescott finished fifth.

In the second feature, Barker led the first 19 laps before Gafforini passed her on the inside just past the start/finish line on lap 20. Barker held on for second, David Anderson was third, Dennis Rock Jr. took fourth and Andre Prescott finished fifth.

In the 25-lap NASCAR Bomber feature, Aaron McMorran passed race leader Rich Ham on the eighth lap and held off Pete Meyer for his second victory of the season. Michael Greve took third, Don Sargent was fourth and Ham finished fifth.

In the 25-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature, James Wingard grabbed the lead from Vinny Raucci Jr. four laps into the race and held on for his first victory of the season. Raucci Jr. finished second, Vinny Raucci Sr. was third, Jason Kiser took fourth and John Spilotro was fifth.

Mason Sargent pushed his record to 3-0 this season in the Bandolero Bandits division with another convincing victory in the 12-lap feature. Kyle Keller took second and Gino Marretti was third.

In the 12-lap Bandolero Outlaws main, Caden Carlin led flag to flag and posted his first victory of the season. Joey Paonessa was second and Kyle Jacks finished third.

Zane Smith of Maiden, N.C., led the final 19 laps of the 25-lap USLCI Legend Car feature, finishing ahead of Jason Irwin, Peyton Saxton, Nick Halen and Chris Trickle.

            NEXT RACE - Saturday, April 26 - NASCAR Whelen All-American Series: NASCAR Super Late Models, NASCAR Super Stocks, NASCAR Bombers, USAC HPD Midget Series, USLCI Legend Cars, USLCI Thunder Cars, IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/ Bandoleros. Spectator gates will open at 5 p.m. The Bullring's concession stand features $1 hot dogs, $1 Coca-Cola products and $2 Budweiser beer on each NASCAR Whelen All-American Series race night.

            For more information, please call LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit Follow LVMS on Facebook and Twitter.

Saturday night's NASCAR Whelen All-American Series feature-event results from The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

35-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature #1: 1. Scott Gafforini, 2. David Anderson, 3. Steve Anderson, 4. Dennis Rock Jr., 5. Andre Prescott, 6. Kayli Barker, 7. 8. Stan Mullis, 8. David Perisset, 9. Romain Thievin, 10. Warren Knipper, 11. Kolleen Dresser.

35-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature #2: 1. Scott Gafforini, 2. Kayli Barker, 3. David Anderson, 4. Dennis Rock Jr., 5. Andre Prescott, 6. Steve Anderson, 7. David Perisset, 8. Stan Mullis.

25-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature: 1. James Wingard, 2. Vinny Raucci Jr., 3. Vinny Raucci, 4. Jason Kiser, 5. John Spilotro, 6. Matt Cunningham, 7. Chris Johnson.

25-lap NASCAR Bomber feature: 1. Aaron McMorran, 2. Pete Meyer, 3. Michael Greve, 4. Don Sargent, 5. Rich Ham, 6. Martin Sullins, 7. Jim Merlino, 8. Adam Simon, 9. Gary Griffiths, 10. Nathan Boss, 11. Billy Hern, 12. Wade Pearson, 13. Cayla Bronston, 14. Ben Sherard, 15. Jason Merlino, 16. Jason Sullins, 17. Kirk Hance, 18. Andrew Louis, 19. Justin Griffiths, 20. Anthony Riegert, 21. Jeff Bargerhuff, 22. John Madden.

12-lap IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/ Bandolero Bandits feature: 1. Mason Sargent, 2. Kyle Keller, 3. Gino Marretti, 4. Dezel West, 5. Gianna Marretti, 6. RJ Smotherman, 7. Austin Snyder, 8. Ethan DeGuevara, 9. Tye O'Hanley, 10. Brodey Warren, 11. Tommy Trickle.

12-lap IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/ Bandolero Outlaws feature: 1. Caden Carlin, 2. Joey Paonessa, 3. Kyle Jacks, 4. Devyn Stocker, 5. Dylin Smotherman, 6. Brian Taylor, 7. Philip Root.

25-lap Legend Car feature (results are unofficial): 1. Zane Smith, 2. Jason Irwin, 3. Peyton Saxton, 4. Nick Halen, 5. Chris Trickle, 6. TJ Clark, 7. Robby Lyons, 8. Michael Todd Glazier, 9. Nick Thigpen, 10. Jordan Dean, 11. Devin Lane, 12. Travis Wyman, 13. Cameron Morga, 14. Noah Gragson, 15. Bryan Grandin, 16. Gina Tillman.