Six former NASCAR Winston Cup Series competitors are among the 41 entries for 36 starting spots received for Sunday¿s Las Vegas 350 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series event at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. In addition, LVMS has received 28 entries for Saturday¿s running of the Orleans 150 NASCAR Winston West Series event.

NCTS regulars Ted Musgrave, Jason Leffler, Mike Bliss and Robert Pressley will join fellow ex-NASCAR Winston Cup drivers Morgan Shepherd and Andy Houston for Sunday¿s 146-lapevent.

"We would really like to make it two in a row at Las Vegas," said Musgrave, who nipped Jack Sprague by less than a second to win last year¿s event. "I have always run well at Las Vegas, and hopefully we can take a lot of what we learned last year and carry it over to this year¿s race."

Bliss will be looking to lengthen his lead over Rick Crawford in the point standings. The former USAC champion has a narrow 55-point lead over Crawford with just four races remaining.

"I love racing in Las Vegas because it is smooth, big and wide," Bliss said. "I have always been comfortable racing there. Plus my parents moved to Las Vegas about three years ago and that will give me some extra motivation."

Las Vegas Brendan Gaughan will be looking for victory in his hometown, while also trying to extend his lead in the rookie race over Bill Lester, Jason Small and Steve Portenga.

Other notable entries include Coy Gibbs, the son of former Washington Redskins¿ coach and current NASCAR Winston Cup team owner Joe Gibbs, four-time 2002 winner Terry Cook, former Las Vegas Winston West winner David Starr and Nevadan Jerry Allec Jr. of Carson City.

Sunday¿s Las Vegas 350 will start at 2 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Among the Winston West notables are two-time series champion and Las Vegas resident Brendan Gaughan as well as this year¿s title contenders, Austin Cameron and Eric Norris.

Gaughan won last year¿s event on the 1.5-mile superspeedway and already has posted two wins this season in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series. For Gaughan, who will compete in Sunday¿s Las Vegas 350 NCTS event, it will be an attempt at a weekend sweep.

"Our goal is to win both races," Gaughan said. "We have always run well here in anything we have raced. It¿s a great opportunity for NAPA and Orleans Racing for us to go for the sweep."

Cameron, who replaced Gaughan in the NAPA Chevy, trails Norris by a mere 36 points as the drivers prepare for the season¿s final race.

"We have to go out and win the race and then see what happens," Cameron said. "We just have to do all that we can. Eric has been a tough competitor all year, and it¿s only fitting that it all comes down to the last race."

Norris, the son of acting legend Chuck Norris, is poised for his first title.

"We¿ve been working for this since 1997," Norris said. "We know we have to have a strong run in this race, but this has been a good track for us, and we¿re looking forward to a great night."

The Orleans 150 starts at 7:30 p.m. (Pacific Time) on Saturday night.




NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series

October 13, 2002


No. Driver Hometown Team

0 Loni Richardson Paris, Tex. Cellution/Intensitee Racewear Chevrolet

1 Ted Musgrave Franklin, Wis. Mopar Performance Dodge

2 Jason Leffler Long Beach, Calif. Team ASE/CARQUEST Racing Dodge

4 Ryan Hemphill Apollo, Pa. Bobby Hamilton Racing Dodge

5 Tom Powers Clayton, Ga. Ware Racing Enterprises Dodge

8 Bill Lester # Oakland, Calif. Dodge Motorsports Dodge

14 Rick Crawford Mobile, Ala. Circle Bar Motel & RV Park Ford

15 Andy Houston Hickory, N.C. Billy Ballew Motorsports Ford

16 Mike Bliss Milwaukie, Ore. IWX Motor Freight/Knights Inn Chevrolet

18 Robert Pressley Asheville, N.C. Dickies/Square D Dodge

19 Ricky Sanders Stockbridge, Ga. Ford

20 Coy Gibbs Mooresville, N.C. MBNA Chevrolet

21 Morgan Shepherd Conover, N.C. Shepherd Racing Ford

23 Dana White Concord, N.C. Coverall Carports Chevrolet

25 Brian Rose Bowling Green, Ky. Red Line Synthetic Oil Chevrolet

27 Doug Keller St. Joseph, Mo. Keller Motorsports Chevrolet

28 Conrad Burr China Grove, N.C. FDNY/National Peening Chevrolet

29 Terry Cook Sylvania, Ohio Power Stroke Diesel Ford

34 Eric Jones Granger, Iowa Safelite Auto Glass Chevrolet

39 Steve Portenga Bakersfield, Calif. Roto-Rooter Chevrolet

43 Carlos Contreras Mexico City, Mexico Hot Wheels Dodge

46 Dennis Setzer Newton, N.C. ACXIOM/Computer Associates Chevrolet

50 Jon Wood Stuart, Va. U.S. Navy Racing Ford

55 Tom Powers Clayton, Ga. University of Northwest Ohio Dodge

58 Chris Horn Cedar Rapids, Iowa Chevrolet

60 Travis Kvapil Janesville, Wis. CAT Rental Stores Chevrolet

62 Brendan Gaughan # Las Vegas, Nev. NAPA Auto Parts Dodge

63 Carl Edwards Columbia, Mo. Mittler Bros. Machine & Tool Ford

66 Lonnie Cox Elbert, Colo. Carnes-Cox-Higgs Ford

72 Randy MacDonald Oshawa, Ont. Canada Chevrolet

73 David Hall Blue Springs, Mo. Cellution/Intensitee Racewear Chevrolet

75 David Starr Houston, Tex. Spears Manufacturing Chevrolet

79 Jerry Hill Port Tobacco, Md. RDS Racing Engines Dodge

86 Lance Hooper Palmdale, Calif. Red Line Synthetic Oil Chevrolet

88 Matt Crafton Tulare, Calif. Menards/Colorpave Chevrolet

89 Stan Boyd Holly, Mich. Engineered Victories Chevrolet

90 Lance Norick Oklahoma City, Okla. Express Personnel Services Chevrolet

93 Jerry Allec Jr. Carson City, Nev. Troxell Motorsports/Nascart Chevrolet

98 TBA TBA Menards Chevrolet

07 Jason Small # Bakersfield, Calif. Sunbelt Rentals Chevrolet

08 Bobby Dotter Chicago, Ill. Albertsons/People Against Drugs Chevrolet

# Raybestos Rookie of the Year contender


NASCAR Winston West Entries

The Orleans 150

October 12, 2002


No. Driver Hometown Team

OO Scott Gaylord Lakewood, CO Oliver Gravity Separators/Chevy

O2 Carl Harr Edmonton, AB Canada WestWorld Motors/Chevy

O8 Scott Lynch* Burley, ID Yerf Dog, Mr. Gas, Crown Asphalt/Chevy

O9 Blake Mallory Joshua, TX Mobile Force Refueling, Valvoline/Chevy

1 Jeff Davis Anaheim, CA Aramark/Chevy

2 Mike David* Modesto, CA Injury

3 Mark Reed Bakersfield, CA Royal Bath & Body/Pontiac

7 Gene Woods Ontario, CA, Auto Trader/Dodge

8 John Borneman III Ramona, CA Borneman Plastering, Redline Oil/Ford

9 Mike Duncan Lamont, CA MB Duncan Motorsports/Chevy

11 David Gilliland Chino, CA Spirit of Fontana, Eshleman Racing/Chevy

15 Jack Sellers Sacramento, CA Aramark, Dayco, PPG/Pontiac

16 Austin Cameron El Cajon, CA Napa, Martin Senour /Chevy

17 Scott Schmidt Fort Lupton, CO Smitty¿s Motorsports/Chevy

19 Eddy KcKean Jerome, ID Napa Belts & Hoses/Chevy

23 Brandon Ash Umpqua, OR Fuji Film, Little Trees, Auto Marine/Ford

27 Bobby Hills Jr. Phoenix, AZ Fierce Creature Racing/Chevy

32 Eric Norris Dana Point, CA Jani-King, Ultra Wheels/Ford

45 Jason Small Bakersfield, CA JRS Motorsports/Chevy

52 Mike Grady Farmington, NM J&M Baling Inc., Atomic Signs/Pontiac

54 Timothy Woods III Chino Hills, CA Chino Hills Ford, VOKAL/Ford

61 Brett Thompson* Jerome, ID MBNA, Thompson Trucking/Chevy

62 Brendan Gaughan Las Vegas, NV NAPA, Orleans Hotel & Casino/Dodge

70 Rick Bogart El Cajon, CA Washington Mutual/Dodge

71 Daryl Harr St. Albert, AB Canada WestWorld Motors/Chevy

77 Greg Pursley* Newhall, CA Food 4 Less, King Taco/Ford

85 Kevin Richards Spokane, WA Monoco Enterprises/Chevy

90 Clint Vahsholtz Woodland Park, CO Vahsholtz Racing/Ford

* Stage 8 Locking Fasteners Rookie-of-the Year Candidate