Quick Californians Cody Laney and Ethan Dotson collected IMCA Modified checkers on night two of the Duel In The Desert.

Laney caught Tim Ward for the led with six laps left in Friday's first qualifier at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway Dirt Track while Dotson went to the top shelf on the final turn and passed Jeff Taylor for the win in the nightcap.

Both victories were good for $777.

Ward, Jake O'Neil and Ricky Thornton Jr. completed the top four behind Laney. Defending race winner Jason Hughes and five-time Duel winner Jeremy Payne chased Dotson and Taylor across the stripe.

The battle for the lead in the first qualifier was being waged half a straightaway ahead of the rest of the field by midway. Laney had closed in lapped traffic before falling off the pace, then survived contact with a lapped car before reeling in Ward again.

Ward was half a car length ahead when the 19th of 25 circuits was scored; Laney took the higher line around the leader, then held off all challengers following a caution with three laps remaining. Thornton had started 21st and was in and out of fourth before securing the final transfer spot.

Taylor drew the pole start for the second qualifier and ran ahead of a multi-car tussle over the runner-up spot much of the way. The top four cars had broken away before a caution with eight laps to go.

Dotson caught Payne for second on lap 20 and reeled in the leader before staging his last-turn heroics.

He'll make his bid to become the first driver to win IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey's and Duel In The Desert main events the same year on Saturday.

Joe Docekal raced from fourth starting to first finishing in winning the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod qualifier and $500.

Eleventh starting Kevin Johnson, Tom Fraser, Cory Hemphill, Arie Schouten and 23rd starting Matt Loft rounded out the top six.

Final-night main events pay $7,777 to the Modified winner and $1,777 to the Northern SportMod winner. Also scheduled are Wild West Tour Top 20 Showdowns for both divisions.

More than 300 cars have seen action at the 22nd annual Duel, including an event record 102 Northern SportMods.

The Duel is broadcast by www.IMCA.TV.

Qualifying feature results

First Modified feature
1. Cody Laney, Torrance, Calif.; 2, Tim Ward, Chandler, Ariz.; 3. Jake O'Neil, Tucson, Ariz.; 4. Ricky Thornton Jr., Adel, Iowa; 5. Kellen Chadwick, Oakley, Calif.; 6. Jason Beaulieu, Campbell River, B.C.; 7. Steven Bowers Jr., Topeka, Kan.; 8. Tanner Black, Otis, Kan.; 9. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.; 10. Kyle Heckman, Bakersfield, Calif.; 11. Chris Nieman, Quincy, Calif.; 12. Paul Stone, Winton, Calif.; 13. Scott Drake, Diamond, Mo.; 14. Nick Trenchard, Klamath Falls, Ore.; 15. Lawrence O'Connor, Port Hardy, B.C.; 16. Joe Burch, Mount Pleasant, Mich.; 17. Jacob Pace, Kearny, Ariz.; 18. Jake Pike, Pahrump; 19. Chris Birdsong; 20. Kyle Brown, Madrid, Iowa; 21. Danny Wagner, Bay Point, Calif.; 22. Trevor Fitz-Gibbon, Camarillo, Calif.; 23.  Kollin Hibdon, Pahrump; 24. Chris Delp, Rock Springs, Wyo.; 25. Randy Brown, Chowchilla, Calif.; 26. Alex Stanford, Chowchilla, Calif.; 27. Casey Delp, Rock Springs, Wyo.; 28. Lance Mari, El Centro, Calif.; 29. Brad Pounds, Bakersfield, Calif.; 30. Bobby Hogge IV, Salinas. Calif.

Second Modified feature
1. Ethan Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif.; 2. Jeff Taylor, Cave City, Ark.; 3. Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla.; 4. Jeremy Payne, Buckeye, Ariz.; 5. Shane DeVolder, Pacifica, Calif.; 6. Eddie Belec, Arvada, Colo.; 7. Dylan Thornton, Orcutt, Calif.; 8. Kody Scholpp, Estevan, Sask.; 9. Collen Winebarger, Corbett, Ore.; 10. Ryan McDaniel, Olivehurst, Calif.; 11. William Gould, Calera, Okla.; 12. Casey Skyberg, Rapid City, S.D.; 13. Zane DeVilbiss, Farmington, N.M.; 14. A.J. Sharpensteen, Amarillo, Texas; 15. Andy Obertello, Hollister, Calif.; 16. Tony Leiker, Gillette, Wyo.; 17. Benjamin Chukuske, Welcome, Minn.; 18. Logan Drake, San Luis Obispo, Calif.; 19. Heath Grizzle, Drasco, Ark.; 20. Mike Villanueva, Atwater, Calif.; 21. Michael Hale, West Valley City, Utah; 22. Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont, Wis.; 23. Austin Arneson, Fargo, N.D.; 24. Jacob Hobscheidt, Plattsmouth, Neb.; 25. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, Iowa; 26. Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa; 27.  Adam Kates, Tonganoxie, Kan.; 28. Dustin Grabowski, Upland, Calif.; 29. Dominic Ursetta, Arvada, Colo.; 30. Drew Christianson, Minot, N.D.

Northern SportMod feature
1. Joe Docekal, Dysart, Iowa; 2. Kevin Johnson, Bakersfield, Calif.; 3. Tom Fraser, Antioch, Calif.; 4. Cory Hemphill, Yuma, Ariz.; 5. Arie Schouten, Omaha, Neb.; 6. Matt Looft, Swea City, Iowa; 7. Tyler Blankenship, Bakersfield, Calif.; 8. Kelly Henderson, Minot, N.D.; 9. Cody Olsen, Omaha, Neb.; 10. Fred Ryland, Brentwood, Calif.; 11. Brent Curran, Antioch, Calif.; 12. Luke Krogh, Dickinson, N.D.; 13. Nick Spainhoward, Bakersfield, Calif.; 14. Matt Micheli, Live Oak, Calif.; 15. Kyle Salo, Peoria, Ariz.; 16. Jorddon Braaten, Central Point, Ore.; 17. Les Friend, Galt, Calif.; 18.  Cody Malcom, Shelley, Idaho; 19. Billy Simkins, Bakersfield, Calif.; 20. Speedy Madrid, Laveen, Ariz.; 21. Tommy Hensley, Bedford, Iowa; 22. Jason Nation, Bakersfield, Calif.; 23. Robert Elliott, Clinton, Okla.; 24. Garret Jernagan, Bakersfield, Calif.; 25. Bo Partain, Casa Grande, Ariz.; 26. Jake Sachau, Denison, Iowa; 27. Rex Higgins, Bloomfield, N.M.; 28. Shelby Frye, Casa Grande, Ariz.; 29. Matthew Mayo, Bakersfield, Calif.; 30. Jarrod Mounce, Atwater, Calif.