The Southern Nevada Sports Hall of Fame has inducted standout individuals and teams over the past quarter century. In 2023, it will induct its first standout venue: Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

The speedway’s election was announced Saturday at Allegiant Stadium prior to the SRS Distribution Las Vegas Bowl. The speedway will enter the hall with many deserving inductees including former UNLV basketball coach Lon Kruger, former San Diego Padre and current UNLV associate head baseball coach Kevin Higgins, 2016 BMX Olympic gold medalist Connor Fields, long-time Las Vegas high school basketball coach Karen Weitz and former Nevada Governor Kenny Guinn.

“It’s an honor that the speedway is being recognized in the local community for the role it’s played since our facility opened in 1996,” said LVMS President Chris Powell, who was inducted into the hall in 2013. “It’s a testament to the hundreds of employees who’ve worked at the speedway through the years. And we’re proud to be inducted with this outstanding class of individuals.”

The Southern Nevada Sports Hall of Fame, which is located in the newly built Dollar Loan Center Arena, began in 1996 and will have 122 members once this class is enshrined on June 16, 2023.

The speedway will join an impressive list of motorsports hall of famers including speedway founder Richie Clyne (Class of 2004), racing pioneer and speedway developer Mel Larson (2008), former off-road racer and long-time racing supporter Michael Gaughan (2009), off-road racers the Herbst Family (2014), NHRA team owner Ken Black (2014), former NASCAR Cup Series champion Kurt Busch (2015) and former IndyCar driver and current team owner Sam Schmidt (2017).