Redemption was extra sweet for Jeremy Doss at the West Coast Short Track Championships at The Bullring on Saturday night.

The Upper Lake, Calif., driver recovered from a tough runner-up finish to Derek Thorn at the Senator's Cup Fall Classic on Oct. 21 to celebrate his birthday with a win in the 125-lap SPEARS Southwest Tour Series finale at the 3/8-mile paved oval. Thorn led the race early and traded the lead with Doss just past the midway point before Doss pulled away down the stretch to pocket the $5,000 winner's check.

"I'm just so stoked. It couldn't be a better birthday present," said Doss, who swept a pair of NASCAR Super Late Models races at The Bullring on Sept. 23. "It's 100 percent (redemption). I've got to hand it off to the JD Motorsports crew. They busted their butts all weekend, and it paid off."

Thorn didn't leave Las Vegas empty-handed however, as he clinched his record fourth SPEARS Southwest Tour Series season championship after finishing third behind Doss and Jeff Bischofberger. The Bakersfield, Calif., driver was thrilled to take home the season title.

"To win a championship, it's a whole year process, a lot of work and a lot of hours," said Thorn, who plans to run in the K&N Pro Series in 2018. "I just can't thank Byron and Carol Campbell enough for assembling such a great team to give us the best opportunity to come out here and race. It's always an honor to race here in front of the Vegas crowd, and we try to put on a show each and every weekend."

Ricky Schlick of Claremont, Calif., celebrated his SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Rookie of the Year crown on the front stretch after taking fourth place in the race.

Kyle Tellstrom of Ukiah, Calif., survived re-start after re-start and a late charge from Scott Winters to win the 100-lap Lucas Oil Modifieds race by just .247 of a second. Tellstrom led the majority of the event, which was separated into two 50-lap segments, and was ecstatic after taking the checkered flag.

"It feels great, and this is my best track statistically," said Tellstrom, who now has three career Lucas Oil Modifieds victories. "We've been so close here a few times, and last year I thought we were going to get one. It feels damned good to be here now and make it happen."

Taylor Miinch, who had already wrapped up the 2017 Lucas Oil Modifieds season championship heading into the event, finished a close third.

Annie Breidinger of Hillsborough, Calif., earned some redemption of her own after finishing second at the Senator's Cup Fall Classic by winning the USAC HPD Midget Series' 30-lap feature by .747 of a second ahead of Nolan Allison. Breidinger also won the USAC East-West Challenge Cup by taking the race title, her first at The Bullring.

"This is my first win at this track after racing here for three or four years, so I'm pretty excited," Breidinger said. "I really like this track. It's really fast and always has good competition."

Breidinger's sister, Toni, a multiple-time winner at the LVMS short track, was leading the race until a lap-18 wreck relegated her to the rear of the field. She battled back to a ninth-place finish.

Las Vegas driver Kyle Keller passed Dezel West of Henderson, Nev., with seven laps remaining in the 40-lap Jr. Late Models feature, crossing the finish line 1.197 seconds ahead of Adam Lemke to take the race victory. Keller's car was putting out puffs of smoke from a suspected tire rub, but it didn't keep him from the Winner's Circle.

"I didn't think I had a tire rub, I was just focused on taking that lead and getting the win," Keller said. "I just ran my line and stayed focused, and when I got underneath (West), I didn't give up. I just kept driving in and got him."

Racing will return to The Bullring on March 10, 2018, with the short track's 18th season-opener. Tickets will be available on or by calling 800-644-4444 next year.

2017 West Coast Short Track Championships
Complete results

Jr. Late Models 40-lap feature
1. Kyle Keller; 2. Adam Lemke (-1.197 seconds); 3. Dezel West (-2.107); 4. Hailie Deegan (-2.262); 5. R.J. Smotherman (-11.231); 6. Payton Garofalo (-2 laps); 7. Tanner Reif (-25 laps).

Lucas Oil Modifieds 100-lap feature
1. Kyle Tellstrom; 2. Scott Winters (-.247 of a second); 3. Taylor Miinch (-.800); 4. Dylan Cappello (-1.304); 5. Jason Irwin (-2.092); 6. Jim Mardis (-2.759); 7. Shelby Stroebel (-5.805); 8. Bryan Grandin (-6.155); 9. Aaron McMorran (-6.383); 10. Linny White (-6.633); 11. Eric Rhead (-8.048); 12. Doug Hamm (-8.399); 13. Kris Price (-8.408); 14. Jeremy Kay (-9.050); 15. Mike Womack (-9.403); 16. Aaron Paulsen (-10.791); 17. Aubree Wartman (-11.452); 18. Blake Rogers (-12.566); 19. Clint Schubert (-14.235); 20. Doug Carpenter (-15.495); 21. Sierra Furia (-1 lap); 22. Mark Allison (-1 lap); 23. Jeff Longman (-1 lap); 24. Ryan Partridge (-3 laps); 25. Rod Proctor (-4 laps); 26. Chris Cook (-9 laps); 27. Pat Petrie (-12 laps); 28. Sid McElreath (-19 laps); 29. Michael Mitchell (-25 laps); 30. Cody Kay (-56 laps).

USAC HPD Midgets 30-lap feature
1. Annie Breidinger; 2. Nolan Allison (-.747 of a second); 3. Jessica Bean (-1.168); 4. Joey Iest (-1.952); 5. Tyler Slay (-3.379); 6. Jake Garcia (-3.600); 7. Mike Daniels (-3.756); 8. Chris Lamb (-4.352); 9. Toni Breidinger (-4.458); 10. Cody Jessop (-6.324); 11. Jagger Parker (-6.406); 12. Adam Lemke (-6.569); 13. Blake Brannon (-8.299); 14. Chaz Groat (-9.688); 15. Tim Fahmer (-9.994); 16. Jesse Love (-12 laps); 17. Tom Patterson (-12 laps); 18. Natalie Waters (-12 laps).

SPEARS Southwest Tour Series 125-lap feature
1. Jeremy Doss; 2. Jeff Bischofberger (-1.948 seconds); 3. Derek Thorn (-2.497); 4. Ricky Schlick (-9.267); 5. Buddy Shepherd (-10.14); 6. Dustin Ash (-11.16); 7. Eric Schmidt (-11.39); 8. Cale Kanke (-12.54); 9. Trevor Huddleston (-15.076); 10. Christian McGhee (-1 lap); 11. Bobby Hodges (-1 lap); 12. Jacob Gomes (-1 lap); 13. John Moore (-1 lap); 14. Cole Moore (-1 lap); 15. Blaine Rocha (-1 lap); 16. Stan Mullis (-2 laps); 17. Keith Spangler (-2 laps); 18. Scott Sanchez (-4 laps); 19. Cole Cabrera (-4 laps); 20. Kayli Barker (-5 laps); 21. Kolby Berry (-8 laps); 22. Jimmy Parker Jr. (-62 laps); 23. Nick Joanides (-71 laps); 24. Carlos Vieira (-84 laps); 25. Bob Lyon (-86 laps); 26. Colby Potts (-87 laps); 27. Logan Bearden (-97 laps).